PDA

View Full Version : A decent FREE webhost..space > 10mb



{PoSeIdOnAs}
10-09-2002, 08:32 AM
can u guys list some websites which offer FREE space that is minimum of 10mb (i can live off that for now), i dont care about banner popups but has , maybe, FTP transfers allowed for free peeps....but also is NOT the following..

www.crosswinds.net

www.geocities.com

any suggestions? geocities dont work right with images which is why i have to give you link to webpage with my SIG instead of the pic otherwise it wont work. and crosswinds.net is down (unlimited storage too :( )

please please post some.....i need to get crap put online and get my thing going!!

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-09-2002, 09:17 AM
Fortunecity.com is great. That's where I upload all the images that I use for tweaktown. They offer 100MB Remote FTP acess and a large amount of bandwidth. I didn't like geocities either. They cut off access to remote FTP which really pissed me off and they had a SMALL amoutn of bandwidth.

Andy
10-09-2002, 11:58 AM
when i used to use fortune cities you couldn't link pics out of their servers. can you now?

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-09-2002, 12:17 PM
not a direct link but a pick I guess. Atleast you can here in the forums. Of course that is assuming that you can see my signature. Or the pictures that I post.


Can you see my signature?

Andy
10-09-2002, 01:14 PM
yeah i can, hmmm.. ok :\

Wiggo
10-09-2002, 04:08 PM
I can't until I open another window and follow the source (doens't always work though). :(

:beer: :beer: :beer:

Andy
10-09-2002, 06:28 PM
hmm.. like wiggo said, it doen't always work - i can't see it atm

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-09-2002, 09:24 PM
you see the fortunecity place holder?

Wiggo
10-09-2002, 09:29 PM
Yep that's all I see. :(

Geocities, FortuneCity and Crosswinds are some of the worse places that ppl can pick (very rare for the link to work after 5mins). :eek:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-09-2002, 09:31 PM
lol this isn't cool. I can host the pictures on my FTP server but then I don't want to leave that up all the time. Ok well now I'm gonna join {PoSeIdOnAs} and his topic on what this thread was original supposed to be. Know any good webservers out there that won't give a place holder and all a direct link to a file?

Wiggo
10-09-2002, 09:35 PM
Doesn't your ISP provide webspace? Mine does and I use that so long as I realise that it only has a 300MB p/m bandwidth but it's free and works plus it's 10MB per email address of which you can have up to 5 of. ;)

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-09-2002, 09:42 PM
does it? hmm......... I'm not really sure I'll have to ask my dad when he wakes up (few minutes from now) as he owns the account. Then once I find out beleive me I will change everything ovber immediatly.

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-10-2002, 11:11 AM
ok........I"m now hosting all pictures off the bellsouth servers. Which are being paid for so they SHOULD WORK. Does my signature show up now?

Wiggo
10-10-2002, 11:14 AM
Workin' fine today anyway. :D

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-10-2002, 11:16 AM
good I don't think I should have anymore problems with pictures showing up. Unless of course bellsouth is having problems with there servers. I"m paying 45 a month they better be up all the time!

I already fixed it but I ment "now" not "not"

Beefy
10-10-2002, 11:19 AM
i could always see your sig. :)

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-10-2002, 11:37 AM
that's the way it always is with me. I'm always able to see pics when linked from fortunecity. But for some reason there are certain people who at times see the foretunecity place holder until they refresh the page? Oh well any problems should now be gone.

Andy
10-10-2002, 01:06 PM
i can see your sig now too :)

{PoSeIdOnAs}
10-11-2002, 04:52 PM
well i tried fortunecity the day you suggested it thank you :)

it has an odd way of doing things through the online method but its okay as long as it got FTP (which is great......cuteFTP should help here lol)

but mysig should be visible now even though it is not coming up (as previously mentioned) within the first 5 mins of being uploaded. But my damn sig is FINALLY friggin showin up and ppl can see the work i put into the damn thing (4-5 hours straight only lol.......lots of manual cutout around the car......)

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-11-2002, 09:29 PM
lol ya......I mean it works just not all the time. As you can mine didn't show up all the time. You can directly access pictures through a link but for some reason you can when posting the pic in these forums. How they're related I don't know.

Its a nice powerful car too. It'll destroy mine. :( But I like vipers too. :)

Wiggo
10-11-2002, 09:59 PM
Maybe I should find a nice Superbike piccy then. :?:

Sorry but then ya's can eat my dust. :D


Oh, wait a minute, I've already got one in the garage. http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons4u/fingers/fing20.gif

That's right its a new spine that I need. http://freeze.mongtastic.be/files/emoticons4u/sad/239.gif

:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-12-2002, 06:08 AM
ya we'd get torn up alright lol

Wiggo
10-12-2002, 12:26 PM
It's really not funny havin' a 145hp sportsbike in ya garage for 14 months and not be able to ride it plus I miss motion. :cry:

Oh btw the power to weight ratio with me on top is 2.5kgs (5.5lbs) per hp, what's ya car's? :laugh:

But it is good to constantly see those sigs and not the place card. :thumb:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

{PoSeIdOnAs}
10-17-2002, 08:58 AM
yah get your ass on it already :)

when i get mine....ill start off with a 800cc or so....

but i wanna get myself a 1100 cc eventually.....

i just watched some funny car/dragster racingthe other day. There was this one funny car that *blew up* somewhere near the start. In slow-mo u can see the hood being sucked in about 4 inches to nearly a foot (it was DEEP) with a circumference of about 1.5 feet...then it blows outward leaving the body like banana peeled with flames...man it was nuts

the damn funny cars reached 320mph now....can u believe it? only 10mph slower than the dragsters (top-fuel)

its cool...... 0 to 333mph in 4.6 seconds. Yeap. That is nuts hahhah

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-17-2002, 09:19 AM
ya those funny cars are pretty amazing allright. Of course they are best when in a camaro/firebird body. ;)

Wiggo I don't know where to find the power/weight ratio. Know any sites where I can find that information? All I know is the car weighs ABOUT 3400LBS. (don't know the KG) and has 325HP and when equiped with full options from its SLP factory it gets 350HP (same as the vette ;) ) I mean they are the same car in a way....

Wiggo
10-17-2002, 03:48 PM
At a rough guess that's about 6kg/hp which by tintop standards is excellent as few make 10kg/hp. :thumb:

But I'll go with my 1000cc japbike still. :D

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-17-2002, 09:22 PM
That's the engine size? lol I have 5665CC to work with lol.

Wiggo
10-18-2002, 09:09 AM
Actually 998cc but then it's a Kawasaki so nuf said. ;)

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-18-2002, 10:04 AM
wow bikes have really small engines. I knew they were small but not THAT small. That's like .9L. What is it a 2cyl?

Wiggo
10-18-2002, 10:46 AM
Inline 4cyl with a 10500rpm redline. ;)

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-18-2002, 11:17 AM
OMG.......on a bike? I didn't know bikes had that much of a red line. And those must be some really small cylinders.

Wiggo
10-18-2002, 04:51 PM
But bike and rider are <750lbs so what more do ya need? :?:

Well actually before I got my back screwed I was thinkin' of one of the new jap V2 sporties. :devil:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-18-2002, 10:16 PM
ya that's true. 750 pounds that's like omg. What's the 0-60 on one of those? I wanna know if there is a car out there that can beat it. But then again you did say the 1/4 mile in 9 seconds flat and no car stock does that.

Wiggo
10-18-2002, 11:10 PM
Posted by ReSpAwN DeMoN
[b]But then again you did say the 1/4 mile in 9 seconds flat and no car stock does that. That's why I gave up fast cars, faster and costs less. :devil win

:beer: :beer: :beer: