PDA

View Full Version : HELP with UDMA 6 running on PIO mode 4



ob7
10-12-2002, 03:16 AM
Can't figure out why my hd is running at PIO mode. Can anybody help?

My rig:

P4S8X P4 1.8a @ 2.4
512 Kingston VR DDR333
ATI AIW 7500
3 Maxtor 60g ata133, OS on RAID0, the other 2 shown on picture attached is occupying primary ide as slaves.
DVD, CDR, ZIP, floppy

Thanks in advance.

OB

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-12-2002, 06:13 AM
Did you check that the primary IDE channel in the device manager is set for DMA and not PIO? Sometimes windows likes to put it on PIO even though I have never expierienced this myself. But it does happen.

ob7
10-12-2002, 06:52 AM
I finally figured it out. It was my ata controller card that houses my zip drive. I transferred it over to the secondary ide and resolved the conflict.

Thanks. Now I just need to figure out if there is a fix to my single drive onboard RAID 0 that only runs on 64 (that I'm unable to change).

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-12-2002, 08:41 AM
Glad to hear! I don't know anything about raid so your on your own there until someone else comes along.