AMD or Intel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD or Intel

Hi i'm a newbie and expect the usual treatment for being one. I've finally got the courage or rather money to try and build a new pc, mainly for games etc, i use my current system for the net and work stuff.

Most of the people i know aren't to clued up regards to pc's, and my dilemma at the moment is whether i should go down the road of AMD or Intel. Most of the systems i see are XP systems and considering i'm in the AMD forum, any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I'm working to a budget, and have some of the components already, ie case, psu, monitor, keyboard and mouse etc.

Basically i'm after a m/b, cpu, graphics card and RAM and soundcard, plus whatever else i'll need.

Thats it for the moment.

Well the higher end p4 systems especially when the 3GHz come out with hyper threading are gonna be really killer. So in that sense Intel is leading. BUt AMD has always been the price. And the fact that your on a price budget like you said I would personally say AMD. But then this is my personal opinion as I am an AMD enthusiest. Unless AMD starts getting really suck-o and intel starts dropping there prices liek they did a while back. THen I might decide to switch.

Comment

IMO intel appeals more to high budget users and no budget users. If you are looking for around the middle specs for most of your stuff, you will most likely get a better go from AMD

Comment

Firstly, what is the rating of your PSU? (just to be sure it has enough grunt) :?:

Secondly, don't knock ya self for bein' a n00b as everyone has to start there. (we just get crazier with age) ;)

Basically ya on a budget so count Intel out as you'll get more bang for ya $ from AMD. Also you do not need the latest and greatest available either.
        Something like this may do you more than very well,

EPoX 8K3A motherboard (you don't need the plus version with RAID)) - approx £80