PDA

View Full Version : Minium Requirements



kd6gph
10-13-2002, 11:58 AM
I'm about to install a new video card PNY Geforce4 ti4200 64MB DDR. I noticed the minium req. for this card is a 350W power supply. I've opened the case but can't find any numbers on the PS.With my system, do I have a 350w PS or something less? My other question is what will happen to the performance of the card or system if there is not enough power?

Darthtanion
10-13-2002, 12:15 PM
If the PSU isn't strong enough you will just get a lot of lockups. Give it a try and see. I have seen any number of these boards run on systems that have only 300w models. :)

kd6gph
10-13-2002, 02:00 PM
Thanks for the info. I'll try it and let you know how it come out.

bigjackusa
10-13-2002, 05:59 PM
There should be a large sticker on the psu with all of the specs on it. If there is no sticker, I would venture that it is a very cheap unit.

kd6gph
10-13-2002, 06:50 PM
Cheap psu,that's what I thought too. The card is up and running with no lockups yet. The Mobo raised 4 degrees F (104) and 4 degrees F for the CPU (111).

Thanks for you help

pga1234
10-13-2002, 11:24 PM
I hate generic PSU's :(. Oh well as long as it works :thumb:

The__tweaker
10-16-2002, 06:18 AM
I have an Aopen 250w psu, this is not a very powerful thing but it runs my system just fine, (specs below).
I don't think you'll have any problems with your setup eighter.

Wiggo
10-16-2002, 07:22 AM
Umm.. the AOpen PSU is a qualiy job and a few of these exist, but very rare, plus there are a lot more generic 300w - 400w PSU's out there that just won't run your system. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

The__tweaker
10-16-2002, 08:02 AM
Ok, so i can't trust that cheap non brand psu's really deliver 400W even if it says 400W?

Wiggo
10-16-2002, 08:14 AM
Oh they probably deliver it ok but just not in the right places as most tend to load the 12v+ rail and forget about the 3.3v & 5v rails and these last two are the ones that really count. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

The__tweaker
10-16-2002, 08:57 AM
That suck. So Wiggo what is the best high power psu you can recommend?

The__tweaker
10-16-2002, 09:01 AM
With a little luck i may get my hands on a 300W AOpen psu instead of my 250W version. At least it's some difference.

Wiggo
10-16-2002, 09:09 AM
Well the 300w AOpen PSU in my No.2 PC (http://members.optushome.com.au/wiggo101/PC2.html) does very with 7 x 80mm case fans and it runs 24/7. :thumb:

I hope ya didn't mind my little alteration to your sig? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>