PDA

View Full Version : multiplier question



bigjoe
10-13-2002, 05:25 PM
1st off, thanks for all the help this far...Wiggo's idea of taping off the other contacts helped a lot. finally got my XP unlocked.

Now I have a new problem. My mobo lets me use mulitpliers on the whole numbers as well as the halfs (11.0, 11.5, etc...) when I set it to halfs it won't work, is that normal???

one other question, my vcore is set to 1.725 tried to oc it to a 2100+ but it wouldn't even get through the load screen. I've heard that increasing your vcore with stablize it. what is a good starting point, and how high should I go???

BIGJOE

Wiggo
10-13-2002, 05:43 PM
I've heard of the multiplier problem before but never seen it myself so I can't really say what goes on there and I havn't seen an explanation for it either. :?:

if it ever happens to me I'll let ppl know why it happens and what if anything can be done ;)

Up to 1.85v should be fine with respectable cooling and 1.9v with highend air cooling solutions (any further than this requires more extreme solutions). :)
<center>:cheers:</center>

bigjoe
10-13-2002, 06:11 PM
I tried 1.8 and it worked till 2000+, don't want to go any higher till I get rid of stock heatsink and fan. 300mhz extra isn't too bad for a newbee I guess.

Wiggo
10-13-2002, 06:24 PM
With as little as a Volcano 7+ (http://www.thermaltake.com/products/heatsink/v7plus.htm) (anything less than this I myself would not recommend for overclocking). The HUGE coolin' comparison (http://www.dansdata.com/coolercomp.htm)) :thumb:
<center>:cheers:</center>

bigjoe
10-13-2002, 06:41 PM
will get one on payday...too broke to afford even 20 bucks right now.

thanks for everyones advice.

pga1234
10-14-2002, 12:20 AM
lol

What FSB are you running? Because if your mobo allows you should try and drop back the multi to around 11 and then raise the FSB up to 166...

bigjoe
10-14-2002, 07:09 PM
I guess my mobo is a old design, I can only go up to 146 on the FSB. 12.5 is the highest multiplier I can use. right now its set to 133, will raise it when I get a heatsink.

is it normal on mobos to have vcore and multi. changed on the hardware itself, not in the BIOS???

BIGJOE

Wiggo
10-14-2002, 07:40 PM
What sort of motherboard is it? :?:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

bigjoe
10-14-2002, 07:45 PM
soyo k7ada

bought it 3months ago for $us230 as bare bones system. came with a AMD 1700+

BIGJOE

Wiggo
10-14-2002, 08:14 PM
Sorry but I've never been a fan of that chipset (maybe 1 day) but here's something that may help (if ya don't require the USB ports for k/b or mouse), disable the USB controller and see if you can get higher without it. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

bigjoe
10-14-2002, 08:24 PM
I don't like it ether, just wanted a new computer to replace my 400celeron...it was a good deal...3months later I hear or overclocking.

'round xmas, I think I'll get a new mobo. but I have more important things for now.

BigJoe

Wiggo
10-14-2002, 08:39 PM
Even runnin' at 146MHz FSB would be giving you a nice performance boost anyway over stock but if ya go lookin' for another mobo then make sure that you get a VIA KT333 or KT400 based one of good quality. ;)

Oh and
[b]Because if your mobo allows you should try and drop back the multi to around 11 and then raise the FSB up to 166 I'm not sure if that board supports dividers there though. :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

pga1234
10-14-2002, 10:50 PM
:p, I didnt know what board he had.

Wiggo
10-14-2002, 11:00 PM
Always helps to check 1st. http://pages.prodigy.net/rogerlori1/emoticons/wink.gif

:beer: :beer: :beer:

pga1234
10-14-2002, 11:02 PM
:p be that way







:rolleyes2

Wiggo
10-14-2002, 11:14 PM
T'was just pointin' out somethin' to ya. http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons/happy/1264.gif

http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons/happy/345.gif http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons/happy/581.gif http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons/happy/1356.gif http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons/happy/581.gif http://users.telenet.be/eforum/emoticons/happy/345.gif

pga1234
10-14-2002, 11:19 PM
lol, :p

Anyway he can do it when he gets a new mobo

bigjoe
10-15-2002, 08:27 AM
I am using a combo of higher FSB and multi to get 1732mhz. It seems to be more stable with high multi, than with high FSB.

and what are dividers???

BIGJOE

bigjoe
10-15-2002, 08:29 AM
I mean I raised the FSB a little since the last time you asked...

BIGJOE