PDA

View Full Version : Newbie With A Quick Question(s) on ASUS AI Suite II



adc
05-18-2013, 01:37 AM
Hello,


New build (now up & running for over 36hrs), new to ASUS motherboards, and new to this forum.


I’m currently using ASUS’ AI Suite II > System Information > Monitor > Sensors


Everything appears fine, except that the +5V is varying from 5.00V to 5.160V.


Is this the actual voltage on the PSU’s +5vdc rail, or the voltage out of a MB regulator?


Also, is this varying +5v normal?


Thanks.

Al

************************************************** *****************
ASUS P8Z77-V LK (BIOS Version 0908), Intel i5 3570k @ stock 3.4Ghz/3.8Turbo,
8GB (2x4) Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24 1.50V), Onboard Graphics (during new build)
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD
Corsair HX650 650w PSU, Mouse – Logitech USB, Keyboard – Standard ps/2 (during new build), OS – WIN7 64bit Pro SP1 (Installed on SSD), HD – WD Caviar Blue 1TB (For installation of Apps & Games), Optical – An Asus, and a LG Blu-Ray Combo, 3- 120mm fans (1 CPU & 2 Case , & All fans are running.)

parsec
05-18-2013, 02:25 AM
All the voltage readings are the PSU's rails. It would be very unusual for any PSU to have a constant voltage on any rail, for several reasons. No PSU is perfect, and the load on the PSU changes up and down all the time depending upon what the rest of the PC is doing. Plus the accuracy of the voltage readings from programs like AI Suite are never 100% accurate. They all take a reading in some interval, say from one second to every three or four seconds. The small fractional differences seen, like +/- 16/100 of a volt you get, don't matter at all, if they are even accurate.

If you were seeing consistent dips in a voltage of 5% or more, then the PSU may be having problems, is overloaded on that rail, or bad connections are causing poor power delivery.

adc
07-23-2013, 06:27 AM
All the voltage readings are the PSU's rails.

If you were seeing consistent dips in a voltage of 5% or more, then the PSU may be having problems, is overloaded on that rail, or bad connections are causing poor power delivery.

parsec,

Thanks again for your reply.

RIP...The PSU died at the end of June. Got a new one. No more varying PSU voltage(s).. :thumbsup:

Al

jaggerwild
08-14-2013, 09:56 PM
parsec,

Thanks again for your reply.

RIP...The PSU died at the end of June. Got a new one. No more varying PSU voltage(s).. :thumbsup:

Al


Yeah or it could be the sign of a dieing PSU, was gonna ask you the make but it's gone. It didn't take out anything else n the system with it?