Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ASRock z77 Extreme 6 PWM help.

Hi Guys,

I am having a problem with my ASRock z77 Extreme 6 PWM headers/BIOS settings. This is my first time ever using PWM fans. I asked about them on another forum, and asked what the difference is. I was told that PWM fans use pulses where 3 pin fans use voltage to change speed. I was told that PWM fans will run slowly until they reach a target temperature then they will run full speed trying to lower the temerature. My PWM fans are not doing that. They are just running at the same speed the whole time.I have tried automatic, temperature, manual, and changing levels in the BIOS. I can't seam to get them to work correctly. Another thing I have noticed is the slowest the BIOS will allow me to run these fans is 1400RPM which seams pretty loud to me. That is with the fans set to manual with a level of 1 = 1400RPM. I don't know if the Asaka cable is preventing them from going any lower or what. I would be able to tolerate that speed for short periods of time. It just sucks having it run at that speed the whole time and creates a lot of dust. If I could get the fans working as they should with a max speed of 1400RPM when its getting close to the target temp that would be great. I had the Asaka cable sleeved and the guy did not do a very good job. The cables are all crisscrossed etc. Therefore, I believe the cable is a possibly be a problem. However, the fans connected to the Swiftech splitter seam to be doing the same thing so I don't know. I have always just used 3 pin fans thats why I am completely lost with these PWM fans. Could someone please recommend some settings I could try so I can get these fans working correctly? My system is setup as fallows.

Swiftech H220