PDA

View Full Version : firewalls



Hobbes
10-19-2002, 07:42 AM
I recently installed the D-Link router DI 704P with built in firewall and I also run Zone Alarm Pro. Is running the router alone with out Zone Alarm the way to go or run them both? Is this kind of overkill or what? Sorry if this has been asked before.

Thank you in advance,

Hobbes

bigjackusa
10-19-2002, 08:43 AM
It's ok to run both. Think of it as "belt and suspenders". The router by itself is probably adequate but if you have both running fine now, go ahead and leave it.

ReSpAwN DeMoN
10-19-2002, 08:47 AM
Its not overkill its just precaughtious. If a person or object or soemthing gets through the built in firewall in your router then its rendered useless as they can now do antyhing they want in your network. If you have zonealarm on your PC then you will know when someone is accessing you or not. Its actually safer to run both.