Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

This is your brain on a brick wall. (File System question)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is your brain on a brick wall. (File System question)

Ok I've effectively hit a roadblock. For some reason my process of understanding has slowed a bit.

I'm a Windows guy. I've had training in Unix but as I've stated before I'm a Linux newbie.

NTFS is arguably a great file system to have. Currently Linux only supports Read operations, and Write operations could very well destroy the system. So this X's out using NTFS as a primary file system, correct?

So what file system should I use with Linux? I am assuming there's a "standard" UNIX/Linux file system.. *Duh* yeah I know I'm asking essentially an "ID-10-T question". Like I said my brain hit a brick wall and I dunno why.

Chris "Raven"
    News Crew - TweakTown
    <!--
    <font size=1>
    <font color=green>Main Beast:</font>
    - Athlon XP 1800+@1701MHz | EPoX 8KHA+ | Corsair 512MB XMS3200C2 | GeForce3 Ti200
    - 2x80GB WD 7200RPM | 40x12x48 Sony CDRW | Pioneer 16X DVD
    - Swiftech MCX462+ / Tt Smart Case Fan 2 | Antec 1030SX case w/ 431W Enermax PSU
    </font>
    // -->
    "Look at life like your morning cup of coffee. You might have one every day, yet you still enjoy it."

How to ask a good question

The filesystem that is becoming the "New" standard is ext3. The ext3 filesystem is a journaled filesystem based on the venerable Linux standard ext2. While some may argue that ReiserFS, is a better performer, ext3's backwards compatibility with ext2 has made it a big success already.

NTFS and any flavor of FAT are not appropriate fs types for your main Linux filesystems. In fact, NTFS should be avoided if you would like to share the data on that partition with Linux on a dual boot machine.