PDA

View Full Version : Dr. Debug giving memory error and endless boot cycling



matter2003
12-04-2013, 12:49 AM
I have had a set of Ripjawz DDR3 1600 dual channel 8GB(2x4GB) ram kit for a little over two years now. It's worked great with no issues until recently when my computer now refuses to turn on and goes into an endless boot loop giving me a memory error. Thinking it was the Motherboard I replaced it with a brand new one, however am still having the same issues.

Any idea what the problem could be? I have no way of testing other than the Dr. debug error telling me its a memory issue and the boot cycling is indicative of a memory issue as well...plus I don't think two motherboards, one brand new would have the exact same issues...

Any help would be appreciated...

Matt

- wardog -
12-04-2013, 06:23 AM
I'd test each stick individually with MemTest86+ (http://www.memtest.org/). Look in your MB manual for which slot to run just one stick in.

Maybe a bad stick? Maybe more that that.



EDIT: I'd wait till Matt the G.Skill rep here chimes in for an official reply. But doing the MemTest86+ against each one in the meantime.

matter2003
12-04-2013, 06:39 AM
I have no way to memtest, it doesn't boot..I sent an email to GSkill and they told me to create an RMA and they will replace them...

Also gonna RMA my CPU so I can stop playing the which one is it game...

- wardog -
12-04-2013, 07:44 AM
Also gonna RMA my CPU so I can stop playing the which one is it game...

That's why I suggested to install only one stick and run MemTest86+. If only one stick is found bad by testing but the other one allows booting up just fine you wouldn't need to RMA a perfectly good CPU.

matter2003
12-04-2013, 08:21 AM
I tried running each stick by itself in each slot, no dice on booting up

G.Skill - Matt Wang
12-04-2013, 08:45 AM
Hi,

Please turn off the power and clear CMOS, then boot up with one memory stick. If the computer still have same problem, please kindly take the memory to other computer for another try(if possible).
However, you can send the whole memory kit back for RMA, and we will send you another new kit asap!

Let us know if you have any problem to help!