Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Mboard/Processor setup

Hi,
    I'm a bit new to the hardware side of things, and just bought an A7V266 board with an XP1500 Athlon processor and 256 meg DDR Ram. Using a GEForce 3 TI200 gfx card with Detonator 23.11 drivers on Windows XP Pro

Problem is that I dont know what the bios settings ought to be to get this beast up and running. Can anyone shed any light, I dont have the manual for the motherboard, and cant find an idiots guide on the ASUS website.

I'm not too bothered about overclocking it (yet) just dont want to be running it slower than it ought to be. Also, it seems to reboot itself a bit too often (like once every couple of hours) and stuffs me back in the BIOS again, telling me my processor setup was wrong! aaaaaaargh

Thanks in advance for any help, and sorry if this is a dumb question, but I aint got a clue, I'm only a programmer!

most mobos (as far as I know) usually have a 'Load Performance Options' or something similar, which will set the BIOS to what it considers the best way to get performance out of the board. If you aren't quite sure which settings to change, then this is the safest bet.. Otherwise, someone on here should be able to give you a guide which will explain each and every aspect of the settings.. which will probably work a lot better, but just takes some time to set up..

Comment

cant see anything like that on it, there's a load setup default, would that set me up right?

thanks for the reply, the more ideas the merrier.
      There's something about the System Frequency Multiple and the System/PCI Frequency and I am sure I have that set wrong.
      Any idea what it should be set to for an XP1500 processor?

man, I am so bored with rebooting the thing, and if I never see the bios again it'll be too soon! heheheheeee

Comment

Does the computer actually work properly, or does the BIOS keep popping up all the time with an error?