No announcement yet.

What would you want from a PC business?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What would you want from a PC business?

Hey guys,
    This is my first time.. so be gentle:snip: Well anywayz, I wasn't quite to sure where to post this.. but here is my question. Just like you guys, I like to build kick ass systems, troubleshoot, and tweak systems. So I'm considering starting a small home based business.... troubleshooting PCs .. tweaking them.. setting up small networks.. building custom PCs.. a little bit of everything I guess. But the thing is I don't wanna be one of those pricks that don't do a good job. So I wanna know what you guys would want and expect from a good business like that. Also, I am fairly new to case modding.. but am very interested.. what are a few good sites that have a wide range of kick ass modding accesories. Thanks in Advance :)

Here's the specs of my first custom PC:

P4 1.6Ghz .. OCed to 1.9GhZ
    Soyo P4SI2 400mhz FSB
    512MB SDRAM PC133
    Western Digital IDE 60GB 7200rpm
    Creative DVD 16x
    Plextor CD-ROM 48x16x48?
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec Full Tower case

offer fair and competitive prices. Have a good range of hardware selection. AND do not be stingy on tech support. I tried doing my own business while in my sophmore year of college...it was way to time consuming.... Once you build a computer for someone you become their personal question answerer (if that makes any sense)

Lay out ground rules, like
    1) Will trouble shoot problems that have to do with the computer not working, ie hardware problems, or o/s dieing.
    2) Give them a limited number (like 20) of how-to question, ie How do I burn a cd? Or how do I install this new software I bought? Once they have go over the number of questions start charging.

I did not do this with my first couple of customers and they were calling my sometimes 3 times a day (for free) and asking the most annying questions.