PDA

View Full Version : Help with new G4 Ti4600 & 3dMark 2001se scores???



mrfin
11-05-2002, 08:47 AM
Last week I got a VisionTek G4 Ti4600 and the first thing I did was to run 3dmark2001se. With no OC'ing I got 8596. I know this would be higher if I had faster RAM. Anyway, since the first benchmark, I have not been able to get close to the first score. During the past week I have got scores from around 7500 - 8100. I have AA off, V-sync off, mipmap set to Best Performance, and AGP is running at 4x. Bios is current. I can't find anything that has changed since the first benchmark. Can anyone help?


3dmark score - http://service.madonion.com/servlet/Index?pageid=/orb/projectdetails&projectType=6&projectId=4867981

SegiY
11-05-2002, 10:09 AM
It's most likely bottle necking at your ram.

BIGRHINO
11-05-2002, 10:27 AM
I definetly think its your ram I can get 9000 with a geforce 3 ti500. Im running a xp2200+ with 512 meg pc2700.

My other system with my ti4600 from oc systems and 1 gig pc2700im getting 12545.

I actually under clocked the 4600 from its default setting which is overclocked from the factory, to normal settings and im still getting 11000.

Wiggo
11-05-2002, 11:20 AM
P4's with SDRAM are strangled units and background services are probably also takin' their toll on ya scores as well. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

mrfin
11-05-2002, 11:29 AM
Thanks wiggo, I forgot one thing. I ran my first benchmark after a fresh install of WinXP Pro and a week later I have a ton of stuff installed. I do know that my PC133 ram is a huge bottleneck. As soon as I get my bonus I'm getting at least a P4 2gig with a motherboard that will take faster ram. By the way, does anyone want to comment on DDR or RD ram. Is RDram better?

Sailor Brian
11-12-2002, 06:11 PM
http://neonballroom.hypermart.net/score.txt

This is my first time running 3dMark2001se, is this a good score?

If not, what can I do?

I disabled Vsync and it hurt my score and I started getting weird lines and stuff so thats not an option.

The__tweaker
11-12-2002, 08:59 PM
Well mrfin,

high-bandwidth 1066MHz RDRAM deliver the best performance for latest 533MHz FSB Pentium 4 processors today but will sure cost ya more also.

DDR based P4 533 fsb systems perform very good to according to all tests but has a lower bandwidth. It is just up to you what you choose.

The next step we will se from Intel in the future is new procs with hyper thread support, i think that combined with 1066 rdram it will be a killer.

;)

FLaCo
11-13-2002, 12:08 AM
Mrfin what what drivers are you using for your Ti4600...the memory might be the case...but if you have old drivers you will never get anywhere (score wise).

The__tweaker
11-13-2002, 12:31 AM
Yep FLaCo's right, the drivers are very important, maybe you should try some other version.

With my ti4600 card i gained about 1.000-1100 3d marks by upgrading from the detonator 29.xx to 41.xx.
From 11.646 to 12.715 marks just with a driver update.

:geek:

Fieldgenerator
11-13-2002, 10:40 AM
Have you tried benchmarking using UT 2003 ?
THE benchmark prog is in the system dir...

I get 60.1 FPs (1024 X 768)

M/B :ASUS A7V8X (raid ver)
O/S: WIN2K, SP2
RAM: PC2700 DDR WINBOND CAS2.5 (SET TO 2 IN BIOS)
PROCESSOR: XP1900
GRAPHICS CARD:GEFORCE TI4600(CLUB MAKE)
DRIVERS :NVIDIA 3.0.8.2
HDD:MAXTOR D740DX 7200RPM,20GB.

mrfin
11-15-2002, 08:29 AM
I solved all my problems!!! I went and bought a P4 2.53Ghz, ASUS P4PE mainboard and 512MB Samsung PC2700 RAM. My 3dMark scores went from 8100 to 12700 with no overclocking. See link in my profile.

The__tweaker
11-15-2002, 03:16 PM
Hehe got yourself quite a beast there...
Good choise of mobo to!

:thumb:

FLaCo
11-15-2002, 03:20 PM
LOL...that should do it....

The__tweaker
11-15-2002, 03:32 PM
No kidding... :clap: