PDA

View Full Version : Dial up Sux



Kheldar
01-17-2002, 03:40 PM
As some of you know, austar have axed chello (broadband microwave) so now I'm back to dial up :cry:

neighborhoodcable - NA for 12 to 18 months
ADSL - NA
Cable - NA
Satelite - can't afford installation

so basically i am fu**ed

Wiggo's-sister
01-17-2002, 04:29 PM
Oh Kheldar, dial-up isnt the end of the world, close but not that close. If I can survive on it, Im sure you can tooo......your not the only one without choices :cry:

Kheldar
01-17-2002, 04:39 PM
yeah but I'm on 33.6 K dial up (cause its free with no limits)

Wiggo
01-17-2002, 05:02 PM
That must be like committing slow ritual suicide. :knife:
I feel sorry for ya. :cry:
<center>:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:</center>

Bahamut Zer0
01-17-2002, 05:56 PM
What kind of ghetto isp still has 33.6k connections?

or is your location/quality of lines affecting your connect rate?

Olie
01-17-2002, 06:05 PM
(cause its free with no limits)
i think this might answer your question BZ

Mr. C
01-17-2002, 06:06 PM
Oh thank you so much for bringing up the inadequacies of my connection yet again:laugh:

I was in TechTV chat yesterday am -- this dude wanted to know if he could hook 2 modems to his DSL to get more speed:crazy:

I was laughing so hard......."dude - you got DSL and it ain't fast enough?" "Sounds like a personal problem!"
A very nice fellow as it turned out, but he needs to get a grip.

Last I spoke with him, he had just downloaded and installed UD -- like I said, nice fellow.

Hee Hee -- see, I hound everyone about UD - not just you folks:no:

JealousMidget
01-17-2002, 06:09 PM
I guess some people are just never satisfied.
*looks for second modem for dsl line*

Olie
01-17-2002, 06:10 PM
good to hear MR.C

i got some1 to sign up the other day

Mr. C
01-17-2002, 06:15 PM
good to hear MR.C

i got some1 to sign up the other day

Glad to hear it! Well done!

Big gold star for Olie

Now -- if we can both get just 1 more today:?:



:clap: :clap:

Olie
01-17-2002, 06:21 PM
i'm not sure if another guy signed up

i'll ask him 2morrow

Mr. C
01-17-2002, 06:28 PM
Don't be backsliding me Olie!!!!!
Ask him now:D

Don't ever let success go to your head again:no:

:laugh:

Olie
01-17-2002, 06:33 PM
he has a silent number

so i have no idea how to contact him

but i should see him 2morrow

Beefy
01-17-2002, 06:33 PM
don't worry kheldar, here in hamihole, we don't have any choice either.. could never get austar.... not sure if the satellite service tweak gets is available here... tis useless

Mr. C
01-17-2002, 06:36 PM
he has a silent number

so i have no idea how to contact him

but i should see him 2morrow

OH -- so email is out of order is it?:rolleyes:
j/k


Sell it baby --- Sell it!!!

Olie
01-17-2002, 06:38 PM
if you haver lots and lots of $ you can get ADSL here

Wiggo
01-17-2002, 07:06 PM
Mmmmm...............
Wonder if I could double up a second cable connection? :?:
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Olie
01-17-2002, 07:14 PM
lol

run it to my house

Wiggo
01-17-2002, 07:16 PM
Ya'd just love that wouldn't ya? :D
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Olie
01-17-2002, 07:18 PM
very much so sir


much better than the crap i use here sir

damn slow and unreliable sir

Wiggo's-sister
01-17-2002, 10:09 PM
Im not complaining, at least it works, better than the last provider I had, used to drop out all the time, now its only every 4 hours and not 4 times every hour :laugh:

Albinus
01-18-2002, 09:23 AM
Well I've never had anything except dialup attached to my computer (except when I take it to TAFE), so I can see exactly where all the dialup people are coming from :)

But at least I connect between 48 and 50.3Kbps, haven't had 33.6Kbps since March 1999 :toung:

Olie
01-18-2002, 09:39 AM
i can get 36.6k on a good day

Anonymous
01-19-2002, 07:34 PM
Welcome to my world, at least at home. At least at work we have uncapped cable... :)

Anonymous
01-19-2002, 09:13 PM
Do you guys realise a 33.6k connect can be as fast a 50k connect, it depends how busy the network is...

JealousMidget
01-20-2002, 12:39 AM
Do your mean a 50k connect can be as slow as a 33.6k connect :?:

Anonymous
01-20-2002, 05:29 AM
Do your mean a 50k connect can be as slow as a 33.6k connect :?:

Yes, that's another way of putting it.

Wiggo's-sister
01-20-2002, 06:13 AM
yes, depending on the time of day it can run really fast.
But most times I just have to plod along at a slower pace than most *shrugs shoulder*

Big Ted
01-28-2002, 10:41 AM
Well, poor ol' Kheldar (Gudday mate! :) ) It was indeed a pleasure to pop over for a friday night "do" every now & then and...................................
HAMMER THE ABSOLUTE BUGGERY OUT OF CHELLO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
But what now?
1) Austar is basically financially ****ed, and u got a 33.6Kps (note: not Mps) connection, and we CAN'T hammer the absolute buggery out of chello no more :(:grenade:
2) ADSL - one very ****ed service and one VERY overpriced service at that. Like I've said, when broadband becomes value for money (like the dial up's) then I'll consider it!

Albinus
01-28-2002, 05:14 PM
2) ADSL - one very ****ed service and one VERY overpriced service at that. Like I've said, when broadband becomes value for money (like the dial up's) then I'll consider it!


Not to mention that Kheldar is too far from the exchange to get ADSL :(