PDA

View Full Version : ADSL/CABLE Gateways/routers



Andy
01-17-2002, 08:48 PM
ok, well i'm looking for a gateway/router, and these are the ones i'm looking at:

Netgear RT314 (http://www.netgear.com.au/product_view.asp?xrp=4&yrp=12&zrp=55)

D-link DI804 (http://www.dlink.com.au/products/routers/di804/)

Accton AC-IG1004 (http://www.acctontech.com/b2cshopprodinfo.asp?prodcode=AC-IG1004)

does anyone have any of these and/or have any comments about them?

RDR
01-17-2002, 08:53 PM
I know people using the D-link and also Linksys 4 pt. gateways with no problems.
I have a 3Com Gateway, which I chose because it's also a print server - but 3Com has discontinued it

Andy
01-17-2002, 08:56 PM
the main thing i want to know about, will they create lag? (eg, when i had a p166 as the gateway, there was heaps of lag, packet loss AND choke :() i just don't want that :)

DigitalDD
01-17-2002, 11:16 PM
Great site for home/SOHO broadband router reviews. they even rate network throughput in their reviews so you know if the router slows down your connection.

http://www.practicallynetworked.com/index.htm

Andy
01-17-2002, 11:33 PM
ahhhh... how could i for get about that one??

thnx DDD

The Wizard
01-18-2002, 01:03 AM
andy,
i have the linksys 1 port home router and i LOVE it. its configured via a web page and it creates 0 lag. i dont know anything about the other routers...

Andy
01-18-2002, 08:27 AM
next question:

was it expensive compared to the netgear etc?

Beefy
01-18-2002, 08:30 AM
just slightly off-topic:

From my vast experiences with Netgear products, they are pretty darn good. I've used a 24port Netgear switch heavily, as well as using Netgear NICs in all my PC's..... haven't had the slightest problem with any of them...

Go netgear.. :thumb:

DigitalDD
01-18-2002, 10:15 PM
ahhhh... how could i for get about that one??

thnx DDD

No problem it was just sitting here in my favorites list waiting to be quoted.. :D

Andy
01-19-2002, 10:17 PM
ok, i'mm gonna go with the netgear RT314... when i have money.... after my upgrade... :(

its gonna be a looooooooooong time til i get it :( :cry:

Raven
01-26-2002, 09:39 AM
I have the Linksys 4 port w/ built in Switch.. The thing is a beauty!

100mb file transfers between routed computers take mere seconds.

Setup is relatively easy too, with an IP address interface to be used with IE or Netscape.