PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia Tnt2 card and XP?



Lu_MU
11-07-2002, 06:51 AM
I am having a damn hard time with this Nvidia TNT2 Video card. I recently installed Windows Xp on my system. When I try logging on to my ISP, my screen goes blank, then it comes back in 4-bit display. It SUCKS!!!! Can anyone tell me what is wrong. Should I just buy a new Video card? Is this common?
Please HELP!!!
Thanks!
:cheers:

RDR
11-07-2002, 07:25 AM
Have you installed drivers for your video card or are you using the default ones that come with WinXP?

Lu_MU
11-07-2002, 07:30 AM
I downloded the latest drivers from the Nvidia website.
Thats what is annoying!

RDR
11-07-2002, 07:35 AM
the TNT's don't always work real well with the latest detonators...I would try to find the 3.68's or something from the 5.XX series and use them - they were meant specifically for TNT's

Lu_MU
11-07-2002, 07:37 AM
Im sorry! Where would I find that.
Thanks

RDR
11-07-2002, 07:47 AM
hmmmm...that actually might not be a great idea, I'm not sure how XP would like the older drivers....but you could try rolling back your drivers to the default XP ones and see if that helps.

Lu_MU
11-07-2002, 07:48 AM
I'VE ALREADY DONE THAT. IT STILL DOES THE SAME THING!

RDR
11-07-2002, 07:52 AM
does it only happen when you log onto the Internet?
what exactly do you mean by 4bit display?

Lu_MU
11-07-2002, 07:59 AM
I TRIED INSTALLING ACROBAT, AND IT HAPPENED.
I THINK IM GONNA :knife:
YEAH, IT GOES TO 4-BIT. THE SCREEN LOOKS CRAPPY, THE ICONS ARE ALL BIG. I LOOK IN THE DISPLAY PROPERTIES AND IT SHOWS A 4-BIT SETTING. I CANT INCREASE THE RESOLUTION EITHER. WHEN I REBOOT, IT GOES BACK TO NORMAL.
THANKS FOR THE RESPONSES.
I APPRECIATE YOUR HELP.

RDR
11-07-2002, 08:08 AM
it's almost certainly a software related problem...did it start immediately after you installed XP?

Lu_MU
11-07-2002, 08:09 AM
YES IT DID.

bigjackusa
11-07-2002, 08:27 AM
It is almost certainly a driver issue.When Windows has a major problem with vid drivers it can default to VGA settings so you can still see the screen. What do normally run for settings, 16bit, 32? What kind of res at what refresh? Try starting at at 8bit, 640x480, 60hz. If it doesnt' screw up, try jacking up the settings by one increment and try again. This may at least find the threshhold of the problem. Sometimes driver releases have descriptions of fixes and one of the descriptions may match your problem. The card should work with xp as I have heard of ther people using it. It is also possible I guess that there is a bios setting for AGP that xp's handling of the drivers causes the problem. BTW, did you load xp drivers for your mobo?

RDR
11-09-2002, 12:58 AM
I don't know how the mfg'r support will be aon a card that old - but you could try to find out if that specific card has any issues with winXP.
I would even go as far as trying a whole new XP install - did the orig. install go smoothly? was it an upgrade form a previous Win version or was it a reformat & install from scratch
also - have you downloaded & installed all the WinXP updates and patches?

Wiggo
11-09-2002, 01:05 AM
Most systems with TNT/TNT2 video cards I find don't like drivers above 5.32 and DX7.1 ;)

If you can't find a driver that will cure your probs under XP then either go back to the old os or update the video card. : peace2:
<cernter>:cheers:</center>

BarryD
11-14-2002, 05:18 AM
Hmmm it should be working ok :\ I've got a TNT that worked under XP on my friends machine when he borrowed the card. I think he was using either the windows XP drivers or the newest detonators without any problems.

Wiggo
11-14-2002, 05:52 AM
Some will but a lot won't though. : peace2:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

alex777
11-14-2002, 07:16 PM
I had a Guillemot Cougar TNT2 and it was ok with windows 2000, never tried XP.
I still have the Detonator 30.82 (the best of all of them for many, and the one despatched with the new Gainward Geforce4 ti4200)
if you need it, give me an email or ftp site and I'll send to you (10.5mb).
By the way, as I have this Detonator, I didn't have to install any driver, just plugged my TI4200 in the slot and worked straight away, both win98 and W2k.