PDA

View Full Version : 300 watt PS...enough for ti4200?



catdug
12-09-2002, 10:01 AM
Hey everybody. I'm new here so forgive me for my ignorance. I've just ordered a new PNY GeForce4 ti4200 w/64mb DDR and I just happened to notice that the minimum system requirements for this card states that I need a 350 watt power supply. I currently am using a 300 watt PS. Will I be able to use my new video card with my current PS or am I gonna have to spend more precious $$ for a 350 watt PS? Please see my signature for details about my system. :(

Maxpowers
12-09-2002, 11:50 AM
it depends on how many fans you have and how much hardware you have like PCI cards and so on. Looking at the setup you have you should be just OK, unless you have a cheap brand PSU but i would not worry about it unless you have like 3+ extra fans and stuff like lights and so on plugged to it. I guess the only way you will know is when you plug it in and see what happens.

wecaughtyou
12-09-2002, 11:59 AM
I would wager that you'll be ok. The only way to know for sure is to plug it in. If you get instability and things don't work right, then unplug everything that isn't essential to running your computer. Then it should run. I think you will be able to run with a 300W PSU, but you most certainly will have to be concious of your power.

Andy72
12-10-2002, 05:42 PM
My other comp (P3) has only 250W power and has been running overclocked MSI Gf4 Ti4200 since July. (I also have 40Gb harddrive, soundcard, adsl card, nic, cd-rw, floppy and 3 fans)

I have never had any problems with power. Infact always thought I had 300W until few weeks ago checked and yes, it was just 250W.

Don't let those big numbers confuse you - smaller, quality power goes a long way.

That said, you do need sufficient power so 300W,400W or 500W if it doesn't give you enough real juice ... your screwed.

Andy

catdug
12-10-2002, 06:08 PM
Thanks to all who replied to my question. While the tweaktown website was down, I went ahead and shelled out 60 bucks for a 360 watt PS and I love my new video card and I don't have to worry about it now. Thanks again for your help. :)