PDA

View Full Version : W2K on Raid 0



PK Ripper
01-23-2002, 07:52 AM
Hi

I'm new at this (computers) so please bare with me if I ask a stupid question. I just recently built my first computer with the Abit KG7-Raid. I decided to test the Raid contorler by using my old HDDs first (10 gig 7200 Maxtor &Western Digital for stipping purpose). The problem is that Windows 2000 will not load up beacuse it can not find the HDDs. But when I use W98 it loads up with no problems. The Bios is telling me the with those 2 HDDs I 'm using the secondary IDEs (3 & 4). One side note, I removed all the Jumpers from the CD ROMS and HDDs.

hbidad
01-23-2002, 07:59 AM
What do you mean you removed all the jumpers? ....Do you know that you have to have a master ....if you hook anything else to the SAME data cable then it becomes the secondary? You switch the status of the devices via the jumpers

Albinus
01-23-2002, 08:47 AM
When you install Windows 2000, at the first stage of setup you need to press the F6 key when prompted to install a 3rd party driver. Then stick your driver disk in and let Win2K setup load your drivers.

I have to perform this procedure on my Promise RAID controller, otherwise it will not be detected either :cry:

PK Ripper
01-23-2002, 12:17 PM
No, Hbidad I have everything to hooked up to its own IDE. I have 4 on the Motherboard.

Thanks for the info Albinus:)

hbidad
01-23-2002, 03:56 PM
ahh, I was just about to leave that post....but you beat me to it!