PDA

View Full Version : HELP!! What is Wrong?



MySTiCuSS
01-24-2002, 04:08 AM
When I try to download a program doesn't matter what it won't download! It hangs at the screen as shown in the picture! I can download with a download manager like download accelerator only not at the normal way! The strange thing is that i can download at all the computers in the entire network! Only not at my own computer! Does anyone now what is wrong?
Please help Greets MySTiCuSS

MySTiCuSS
01-24-2002, 05:14 AM
Does anyone now how to solve the problem? I really want to download some files!

The Wizard
01-24-2002, 06:50 AM
mysticuss, do you use a proxy server by chance and not have the settings right in ie?? only thing i can think of without knowing how your network is set up. :?:

Kheldar
01-24-2002, 07:15 AM
first thing I'd try
is unistall the download manager

I'd also try and get all the windows updates

Beefy
01-24-2002, 07:21 AM
you'd what? download all the windows updates? :D isn't that half the problem?

Wiggo
01-24-2002, 02:33 PM
Yeah we tried the site again today and it was still useless for critical updates so I went over to Cnet Catchup and got what I could there. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

MySTiCuSS
01-24-2002, 09:14 PM
I think i have found the problem it is internet explorer! I have installed a new browser netscape navigator and everything works fine! Is there a way that i can install internet ecplorer again? So maybe everuthing will be normal?

hbidad
01-25-2002, 05:47 AM
That should do that trick if it is IE... download IE v6 here http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/default.asp

Mr. C
01-25-2002, 11:16 AM
If the Internet Explorer set-up files are on your local hard-drive, you can save a good deal of time by using the IE Repair utility.

Go about it as if you were going to uninstall IE through the Control Panel. After you select IE and click uninstall, a dialouge box will open. You will see 3 options, 1 of which is Repair Internet Explorer.

On one accasion I had to do that twice before it fixed the problem. But it saved me a lot of time, as it used the set-up files on my HDD so I wasn't forced to DL again.

Raven
01-26-2002, 07:31 AM
Thought IE6 shipped stock with versions of XP.. Wouldnt be a need to DL it again if its on the CD?