PDA

View Full Version : Needing help!



TLP_Hitman
12-30-2002, 03:31 AM
OK i know this aint the right place to post this but I am looking for some help and this is where I was pointed LOL. Anyway here is the problem.

I have the Soyo K7ADA V1.0 motherboard, and I am having some issues with my memory. I have two sticks of 256 PC2100 ram, however if I use both sticks at one time my FPS in games drop almost 30 FPS, also my scores in 3DMark 2001SE are about 1000 points lower, if I take one stick out and use only 256 meg of ram the performance of the PC is awesome. My question is why would 256 meg of ram run faster than 512?

I have heard that soyo boards have a problem with running 2 sticks versus one but I am looking for some kind of fix or a solution to this problem.

I know the answer is to get one stick of 512 but I kinda hate to just throw away $150 just to cure the problem. I have tried setting the speed and cas of the memory, i have tried putting the ram in different slots and everything but yet it just flat out wont perform with both sticks in there

My system specs are as follows

AMD Athlon XP 1800
256 PC2100 ram (Until I find a cure)
Leadtek GF4Ti4200 128 MB
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
Creative 5.1 sound system
Soyo K7 ADA V1.0 Motherboard
350 Watt PS

darthdeath
12-30-2002, 04:40 AM
some times the clock speed of the memory can be different obviously when you buy 2 stix you buy same brand ect...apparently if one stick is slower than the other it can slow the faster stick down i would suggest samsung ddr 333 as it benchmarks well ,hope this gives you some ideas... darthdeath....

TLP_Hitman
12-30-2002, 05:53 AM
Thx for the Reply Darthdeath, Is the 333 DDR the same thing as PC2100, as far as I know this board only supports PC2100 or PC1600 ram. The 2 sticks are identical according to what the stickers say but this could be misleading, not real savy on PC technical stuff so might be way off base here. I guess I will have to purchase 1 stick of 512. I know one thing this is the last soyo board I ever buy. The next one will be a gigabyte board!

darthdeath
12-30-2002, 06:32 AM
yes i would get 512 pc 2700(333 mhz) if the board takes it if you are reaching max memory for the board this may be your problem, you will find with some boards, that they can take more of the slower memory and only a certain amount of the faster stuff check youre board site, perhaps more of the slower clock speed memory will solve your initial problem pc 2100 is(266 mhz) by the way !go for the samsung and have a look at the a-bit max 2 motherboard i have 1 and it is a great all around board (my second a-bit,last one was the kt7a-raid )also i dont go for max overclocking try and find a stable/fast medium(pc`s are only good for games a getting porn of the net !!!!!) :shoot:

TLP_Hitman
12-30-2002, 09:39 AM
NO over clocking goes on this PC, I mean if its that big of an ego trip to overclock and say wow look at those benchmark scores LOL to me it aint worth it at all

Wiggo
12-30-2002, 09:56 AM
No overclocking is required here as the optimum memory speed for a 133MHz FSB CPU's is 166MHz (PC2700 - Host+clk or +33MHz faster than the FSB) so 512MB of PC2700 will really be of help to ya. If ya were goin' to o/c then PC3200 (200MHz) would be required for that. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>