PDA

View Full Version : 16 bit vs. 32 bit video



Marka
01-04-2003, 11:12 PM
I bought a radeon 7000 video card. I ran my computer throught pcpitstop and they recommended that I change my video from 32 bit to 16 bit. Said I might be wasting the extra 16 bits. Honestly I don't see that much of a difference between the two. So where does the extra 16 bits come into effect/play.

Thanks
Mark. :confused:

Wiggo
01-04-2003, 11:51 PM
They are actually refering to the number of colours being displayed and yes for the best performance you should be runnin' at [16 bit] High Color and not [32 bit] True Color as it takes a performce hit at the later setting (right click desktop/properties/settings tab/colors). :beer:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Marka
01-05-2003, 01:21 AM
In my color tab it only shows 16 bit medium or 32 high. It does not say anything abut true color or high color. My old card did the radean one does not have that feature.

Wiggo
01-05-2003, 01:44 AM
Ok then your's would be 16 bit medium then. ;)

:beer: :beer: :beer: