PDA

View Full Version : upgrading video card



mystryd
01-07-2003, 01:36 AM
Hello everyone, I have a question about upgrading my video card and I'm new to this. The one I have right now is Abit GeForce 2 T400 64MB. Right now, I don't know if I should get a GeForce 4 Ti 64MB or a GeForce 4 Ti 128MB 8X. But then which branch should I get such as MSI, Abit, Albatron and so on? My motherboard is A7V8X, it supports 8X AGP. The questions on my mind are which part of the video card is important? the memory it supports or the AGP such as 4x AGP or something else?

Thank You.

Maxpowers
01-07-2003, 06:29 AM
ok if your mother borad supports AGP8x then it only makes sense to buy a videocard card that is AGP8x since you will get the most out of it. Dont let that memory thing you are talking about confuse you just stick to the AGP rating. Going to the brand name i would get something that has dencent warranty like 3 years or lifetime, also i would recomend getting a larger brand name like here are some examples Asus, Visiontek, MSI, Aopen, Leadtek, Abit... there are also others but if they are small then you cant be too sure on the warantee as some of thease companies go under and so on, even some of the bigger ones have trouble. I myself have an Asus in one computer and a Visiontek in the other. O another thing is check and see if u are getting a BOX model what it comes with like games, cables and so on. For example the Asus box model that i have came with like 4 games, tvcables and some other stuff. The Visiontek BOX model came with no cables, and dvd player software, but then again Visiontek has lifetime warantee so i cant complain.

Wiggo
01-07-2003, 07:52 AM
Ok I've just done a walkabout and have turned up nothin' concrete yet but I'm almost positive that the A7V8X is both X4 and X8 AGP 3.0 1.5V compliant but someone else may confirm/deny this before I find something concrete myself. ;)

Asus though have had enough time now to get that new format of their website right and start puttin' up some FAQ's for their newer products. :angryfire
<center>:cheers:</center>

mystryd
01-07-2003, 04:37 PM
Thank you guys for the advices. It really clear up alot of questions. I look at some online distributors, some of them indicate the year of warranty and some don't such as googlgear and newegg. Googlegear shows the year of warranty but many are 1 year warranty. Newegg doesn't show the year of warranty but they include games and cables. It's very complicate to look for a good video card with a good deal. Here are my two choices, can anyone give opinion for these two cards?

Abit GeForce 4 TI4200-8X 128MB OTES TV/DVI
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?description=14-123-120

MSI GeForce 4 Ti4400-VTD
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/vga/vga_detail.asp?model=G4Ti4400-VTD

thanks everyone

Wiggo
01-07-2003, 04:54 PM
I'm not sure about where you are but here I find the Leadtek range of cards have a very good price/performance plus an excellent software bundle (maybe why I use them in 90% of the systems that I build). ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

mystryd
01-09-2003, 06:57 AM
Well Wiggo, to me I think softwares and demo games bundle is not as important as warranty. I already have WinDVD software and many other games and demo games are not that great. thanks though :)

Wiggo
01-09-2003, 07:07 AM
n/p's as it was only a suggestion as I wasn't sure how ya stood w/ software but I deal with a lot of first timers so they can do w/ the software plus it's probably just habit for me now to point things like that out (plus ya never know who may gain from readin' that bit of useless info). : peace2:

<center>:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:</center>

mystryd
01-09-2003, 07:44 AM
I currently have Athlon 2400+ and 512 ddr ram (two 256), do you think I will able to get the max ability of 128MB video card if I am going to purchase one? I did a brench mark test by using 3DMark2001 SE and got 2575 with the current Abit GeForce 2 T400 64MB.

Wiggo
01-09-2003, 08:38 AM
Well either card will certainly do that and then some more whether they be 64MB or 128MB though the later would be a little more future proof and the 8x AGP more so but atm I'm inclined to checkout the R9500P as it has both these features plus DX9 support which makes it even more future proof. It should be priced in about the same price range plus some very good results are now startin' to show up on them. :devil win

<center><img src="http://forums.tweaktown.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=114416">
:cheers:</center>

mystryd
01-09-2003, 05:15 PM
Thanks Wiggo for another great reply. I saw the image that you posted on other thread, and my naked eyes left out Radeon 9500 Pro. Until you mention again and I saw it. :D After some searching, read some reviews, the Radeon 9500 Pro does come with better performance than G4 Ti4200. The price is only couple dollars more than the abit ti4200 128. Oh ya, when I read the reviews, I saw some mention "AA" and "AF" something like that, what is that? Oh yeah, also thank you for the quick reply Wiggo! :thumb:

RDR
01-09-2003, 09:43 PM
AA=Antialiasing
AF=Ansiotropic filtering

simple explanation:
they make your picture look better/smoother at a given resolution
but reduce your framerates by varying amounts

mystryd
01-10-2003, 04:08 PM
Thanks RDR for the definations. Man, it is really suck that I can't use the Radeon 9500 pro because I'm using win98SE and it's not supporting that window. :mad: I got another system with winxp on it but does not have a AGP slot and it's only P3 1GHz. Well, I don't know what to do anymore. :confused: I'm not so sure that I will give up win98 and some extra bucks for better video card. I tweak this baby to its top perfomance and barely see the dead blue screen anymore.

RDR
01-11-2003, 12:19 AM
Thanks RDR for the definations. Man, it is really suck that I can't use the Radeon 9500 pro because I'm using win98SE and it's not supporting that window. :mad: I got another system with winxp on it but does not have a AGP slot and it's only P3 1GHz. Well, I don't know what to do anymore. :confused: I'm not so sure that I will give up win98 and some extra bucks for better video card. I tweak this baby to its top perfomance and barely see the dead blue screen anymore.

the 9500Pro doesn't work w/Win98SE???
that's news to me - where did you read that?

Wiggo
01-11-2003, 12:41 AM
I've used R9K's w/ SE and have had no probs at all. ;)

Also don't sell SE short. :devil:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

mystryd
01-11-2003, 04:23 AM
Actually win98 is not under the support OS.

here is the link http://www.ati.com/products/pc/radeon9500pro/specs.html
Please correct me if I'm wrong about this.

RDR
01-11-2003, 04:49 AM
that's interesting...it says the same thing for the R9700Pro, although for the AIW9700 it states the ME driver can be used for Win98/SE - I looked at a couple of the ATi partner sites & they don't list support for 98 in the specs either

....they all have win98 drivers available for download though....

it must be an oversite - I could probably find out at the Rage3D forums, except their site is down right now....

mystryd
01-11-2003, 05:44 PM
that's interesting...it says the same thing for the R9700Pro, although for the AIW9700 it states the ME driver can be used for Win98/SE - I looked at a couple of the ATi partner sites & they don't list support for 98 in the specs either

....they all have win98 drivers available for download though....

it must be an oversite - I could probably find out at the Rage3D forums, except their site is down right now....

Thank you all for helping. Here is a question sort of out of topic. The Radeon 9500 pro require a connector from the power supply but I have used up all the connectors except the type of connector for floppy drive. Are there some converters or some kind of connect that can expand some more?

RDR
01-11-2003, 07:57 PM
the rquired power connector is the floppy drive type...but even if it wasn't, all you would need is a Y-adaptor, they go for a couple $$'s at most computer stores

Wiggo
01-12-2003, 01:17 AM
Gigabyte make no mention at all about what oses are supported and I've put 3 R9K's of their's on SE usin' the latest drivers that ATi has released and they run just fine. :?:

Most half good PC stores can sell ya the required adaptor to power the card. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

mystryd
01-12-2003, 06:38 AM
thank you again. :D Yup, I did a search on power supply Y-adapter, that thing cost 2$, not sure about shipping plus tax.

mystryd
01-14-2003, 07:45 AM
Ok I've just done a walkabout and have turned up nothin' concrete yet but I'm almost positive that the A7V8X is both X4 and X8 AGP 3.0 1.5V compliant but someone else may confirm/deny this before I find something concrete myself. ;)

Asus though have had enough time now to get that new format of their website right and start puttin' up some FAQ's for their newer products. :angryfire
<center>:cheers:</center>

You know Wiggo, I downloaded a proggy called AIDA32 and check my system. You mention about that my MOBO is supporting 4x, I think you're right. On the hand, the box that came with this card did say that it is a 8x supported MOBO. Anyways, I got no way to proof that it is 8x. Here is the pix:

http://www.crazie00.netfirms.com/vc.jpg

negomike
01-16-2003, 08:12 AM
Hi.

I believe I read when AGP 8x came out that there is no standard that supports 1x and 8x.

They're either 2x - 8x or 1x - 4x.

Somone correct me if I am wrong. Pretty please.