how do i know if i have the latest driver for a Geforce4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how do i know if i have the latest driver for a Geforce4

I'm kinda new to all nVidia's cards so im not really sure if i have the latest drivers. I own a Geforce4 Ti 4200 128, driver version 4.1.0.9
    but i keep hearing about these detonator drivers and what not and i have no idea what those are really.
    thanks in advance
    Drift

Driver 41.09 is the newest Nvida driver officially released. So far as I know any newer driver version that you find will prolly be a "beta" or "leaked" verson. I have used several of these "unofficial" versions for my Nvidia cards and have had no serious problems but that doesn't preclude anyone else from having problems. If you want to stay on the safe side check with Nvidia's website from time to time and see what drivers they are offering officially. If you want to walk the wild side go ahead and test the others from Guru3d.com or other such sites. Some drivers will appearently work better than others depending upon your system configuration. Another place to check for drivers is directly from the maker of your video card as sometimes they have a slightly altered driver that supposedly takes advantage of their particular card.

It has been my experience that you will prolly see little difference from one driver to the other. I usually use "3d mark 2001se" to test differences. The word "detonator" is just Nvidia's catch phrase for their drivers.