PDA

View Full Version : Hard Disk copying again



m-kong
01-16-2003, 07:01 PM
G'days
Sorry for this post but i could not find my previous months ago.

I currently have
1 x 30gb 7,200 rpm ( windows drive )
1 x 40gb 7,200 rpm ( storage drive )
Both drives are in NTFS format

I am going to purchase a larger HD with an 8mb cache ( probably 80gb)

will this conflict with the current drives ???

Also which would be the best way to copy the drives with less fuss.

Should i add the third hard disk onto my current mobo ( A-bit KR7A- non raid) by replacing it with a cd device ?

Then copy the windows and storage to the 80, then format both drives.

I am planning to make the 40gb my new windows drive and the 80 gb storage.

aznx
01-17-2003, 05:12 AM
there wont be a conflict, its good to do a fresh install on the 40 gig though, just copy your personal docs etc and format. if you dont have anything of importance with the cd drive, take it out and stick in the 80 and start copying. then format the 40 and take out the 30, putting the windows file on a partitioned 80 would be good because windows gets the extra 8mb buffer..just a thought, and use the rest of your 80 and 40 gig as storage

m-kong
01-17-2003, 06:27 AM
So I should take out the CD-drive, Place the 80gb there.

Then Copy the 40 onto the 80

Then copy all my stuff i need from the 30 onto the 80

THen fresh install xp pro onto the 40

OR

partiiton the 80 and use botht eh 80 and 40 for storage.


I only plan to defrag the 40 often not the 80 as its storage
which would be best for windows..

aznx
01-17-2003, 08:35 AM
So I should take out the CD-drive, Place the 80gb there.

Partition it

Then Copy the 40 onto the 80

Then copy all my stuff i need from the 30 onto the 80

THen fresh install xp pro onto the partitioned 80

AND

partiiton the 80 and use botht eh 80 and 40 for storage.


install windows on the 80gig, the new hd = better disk transfer performance and the 8mb buffer helps loads

do both

m-kong
01-17-2003, 06:56 PM
nice thanx mate :D:D