PDA

View Full Version : New CPU <<<<



volton
01-16-2003, 08:08 PM
I have just upgraded from 1.2 Athlon AXIA (Legendary CPU) to
Athlon XP 1800+ :cantfocus

Stepping is as follows AXDA1800LT3C
AIUGAO241EPPW

It is also Greeneeee:thumb:

Mr.Tweak
01-16-2003, 09:49 PM
So, how does she overclock?

ry71984
01-18-2003, 04:35 PM
What a classic question from Mr. Tweak... how sad ;-)

congratulations and happy gaming in the future!

I just got a gig of DDR ram (total that is, not added on to what I had). YAY go us!

Fallen deity
01-18-2003, 10:14 PM
I just got one of those 1800+'es

Someone told me it's special, because the die is much diffrent than the previous processors.. It's smaller, and has little die like things surrounding it.

Can anyone elaborate on this?

ReSpAwN DeMoN
01-18-2003, 11:48 PM
Those "die like things" are called capacitors. They were once on top of the processor surrounding the core on the older porcessors like tbird and durons. Now........when polomono athlonxp came out they for some reason moved them to the bottom of the processor to make it look cleaner I guess. I really have no idea why they did that. But when tbred came out they decided to move them back to the top for heat issues as I heard. Where the probe on the mobo couldn't accurately detect the temps cause the capacitors were in the way.

volton
01-19-2003, 11:59 AM
i think the tbrd has a on board thermal diode now

Wiggo
01-19-2003, 12:47 PM
glances up from lookin' at the P4 2.4B on workbench

Oh yes there is a temp diode on core with Thoroughbreds so long as the mobo supports it. ;)

mobo, right where's that... oh there's that GA-8PE667 manual
&lt;center&gt;:cheers:&lt;/center&gt;

volton
01-19-2003, 05:26 PM
Wiggo you iNtEL turn coAT :JOKE: :laugh:

volton
01-19-2003, 05:28 PM
besides the Clawhammer will knock iNtEL for 6
like the Poms

Wiggo
01-19-2003, 05:32 PM
Actually I waitin' for Barton's release and the price cuts that that involves. :devil win
&lt;center&gt;:cheers:&lt;/center&gt;