PDA

View Full Version : Can an AGP x8 be converted into two AGP x4?



negomike
01-19-2003, 12:39 AM
Could one take an AGP x8 compatible slot and use a Y type splitter/adapter to turn it into 2 AGP 4x?

If extra power is need couldn't it be plugged into an outside power source? i.e. PSU?

Thanks for taking time to answer my ignorant questions,
Michael
:bounce:

minibubba
01-19-2003, 12:42 AM
I've never heard of an adapter of that type, so I would have to say no...never heard of anyone takeng a 4x slot and running 2 2x cards out of it

Wiggo
01-19-2003, 04:07 AM
WTF? :confused:

Impossible, can't be done. :no:

Come back after readin' every link here, http://www.pcguide.com/topic.html :devil win

:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

minibubba
01-19-2003, 04:32 AM
lol, that's what I thought

Mr.Tweak
01-19-2003, 06:36 AM
I'd like to see it done - 8x refers to bus transfers, it's not phsyical...

negomike
01-20-2003, 12:54 AM
Ok, just heading farther out on a limb to prove I'm a n00b.

Even if one has only one port could one, could it be split into two or more using something similar to routers splitting info for a single IP?

Thus, the computer would see one card with two GF4 Ti 4200 chips on it, two blocks of RAM, and 4 RAMDECs.

In drivers couldnít one defince that GPU 1 has access to RAM block 1 and RAMDECs 1 & 2 while GPU 2 goes along itís own pipeline?

From the computers point of view wouldnít the important aspect be the relationship of these parts. I.e GPU 1 cannot send info to RAMDEC 4 and cannot read or write to RAM block 2?

Sorry to be a pain, but Iím not ready to leave the temple,
Michael

Mr.Tweak
01-20-2003, 03:45 AM
3DFX did it before in a similar fashion, so I guess it can happen again.

negomike
01-20-2003, 02:28 PM
Oh cool.

I actually didn't follow 3dfx. Could you tell me the name of the card. And if off hand you know of anyplace that might have info on it, please let me know.

Thanks again for all the time u'guys have spent answering my questions.

Thank you,
Michael