PDA

View Full Version : i have a newbie question



mr.intel4_rules
01-27-2003, 06:47 AM
i was reading a page i tom's hardware about building a computer,,then i came across the part about the Hard drive it said..


"We assume that you have already configured your hard disk the way you want it - single, master, or slave"


my question,,wat is single master and slave???

thanks for ur help guys


this site really helps!!

keep up the good work!:thumb:

minibubba
01-27-2003, 06:51 AM
it is the jumper config on the back of the drive that determines the order and peformance of the drives on each ide channel

your hdd should be set to master by default

if you tell us what hdd you have, we can tell you the jumper config for it... or at least how you can figure it out

Wiggo
01-27-2003, 06:54 AM
These are the jumper settings for IDE drives and are displayed on the drive for the appropriate settings. If ya only have one drive per channel the set each as master ti that channel and make sure that they're plugged onto the end of the IDE cable (the middle connection on the cable is for slaves). ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

mr.intel4_rules
01-27-2003, 06:55 AM
thanks dude,,


i have a 2nd question,my friends old(like 1997) comp is like crashed. He lost him Mobo;s manual,and is freaking out . I can open the computer with out a CD_rom,but if u put a cd rom in it,,it wont even run.

what seems to be the problem? The HD? or other parts of the comp?

Wiggo
01-27-2003, 06:57 AM
Manuals may still be obtained from the manufacturer's website so check them out. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

mr.intel4_rules
01-27-2003, 06:59 AM
is this out of date brand,,no mauaul found