PDA

View Full Version : drivers causeing win crash



CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 10:12 AM
The other day I was playing UT 2K3 and my comp locked up. upon restart it has white blocks all over the Bios and XP splash screens. The only way i was able to get into window was in the safe mode. and it would just lock up till i uninstalled the Video drivers. when i tried to reinstall the drivers for the card the comp locked up again, so i reuninstalled them and now i am stuck with the windows default drivers and am un able to change any of the display setting as any changes lock the comp and force a reboot/unistall....any thoughts?

Wiggo
01-28-2003, 10:31 AM
Have ya tried system restore to take ya back before the prob? :?:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 10:36 AM
tried that 1st ...same problem...could it be something wrong with the card itself and not really software related?:hammer:

Wiggo
01-28-2003, 10:39 AM
It maybe but it's very hard to say as I've never experienced that. Have you been overclockin' the card? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 10:50 AM
who me?:rolleyes: yes it has been over clocked in the past but at the time of the crash it was running at default speeds.:cry:

Could cool bits have anything to do with it? and if so what is the Reg entry that i would need to remove?

Wiggo
01-28-2003, 11:01 AM
I asked that because what ya seein' can be caused by memory that's been overclocked a bit far or is havin' a heat issue. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 11:12 AM
Are you referring to the Vid Card Ram? I thought it mightbe the sys ram and pulled the ram and replaced it with some pc2100 and was still having the same problem:cry:

Wiggo
01-28-2003, 11:23 AM
No I meant the video memory but I'm out of thoughts atm if ya've reseated the vid card. :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 11:27 AM
unfortunately yes i have reseated it:( I am trying to get ahold of someone in Tech support at Asus...hopefully they can help me out and it is still under warrantee so i can send it back and see what is up

Wiggo
01-28-2003, 11:29 AM
Have ya tried another video card in it? :?:

That would be my next step. ;)

:beer: :beer: :beer:

CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 12:42 PM
Old vid card runs fine...just slow...i am going to have to send this one back to them :cry: man what a difference the 128 megs of vid ram makes....old card is 32. LOL wow i guess its been a long time since i saw it running!!:zzz: like watching cars rust

CheeZmonZter
01-28-2003, 12:43 PM
cool..that one above was my 100th post I am a real member now! : peace2:

Wiggo
01-28-2003, 01:55 PM
Congratulations :thumb:

<center><img src="http://members.optushome.com.au/wiggo100/pcheers1.gif"></center>

ISSA2000
02-13-2003, 07:43 PM
geforce 4 4200 64mb failed would load windows run 3dmark2001se lock up at demo/benchmark (same with 3d games), tested all (put a geforce 2 mx in system (all works)

(tryed 4 operating system (98/ xp) same problem

(it hard to tell if you have a bad card) just run (in non clocked system) 3d mark2001se for 1 hour and if your video card crashes
change it.

getting my new card in a few days till then using a gefoce2mx
:devil win

CheeZmonZter
02-23-2003, 02:37 PM
I sent my card back and got anothe bunk card to replace it...need to send it back again but just havent had the time to do so yet....I just love old video cards..them make me happy that technology has progressed!