PDA

View Full Version : My 3dMark2001SE score seems a little low..



streak
02-04-2003, 07:50 PM
I got 6386 with my new Radeon 9500 pro with FSAA, 4X.
I got 6311 with the R9500Pro, no FSAA (notice it is less).
6 months ago, I got 6220 with a GF3Ti200, no FSAA and Oc'd a little.
I'm running the test at 1024 x 768/32bit

My system:
P4/1.7/423 socket
Intel 850GB mobo
1 gig PC800 RDRAM
Radeon 9500 Pro (new)
Audigy Platinum
2 x 40GB IBM deskstars/ATA100
WIN2K Pro

I got only 109 pts more with the 9500PRO than my GF3Ti200, does that seem right?
I got more points with FSAA on than FSAA off (with 9500PRO), does that seem right?
My computer has always been stable, everything says it is installed OK.
Am I running into score limitations due to my other hardware?
Any comments are appreciated, if it works, here is the link to my 3dM2001SE score.:
http://service.futuremark.com/servlet/Index?pageid=/orb/projectdetails&projectType=6&projectId=5838345 .
Thanks.

streak
02-04-2003, 08:15 PM
I ran the test again, this time with all of the OpenGL and Direct 3D settings set at "highest performance" instead of "highest quality", as they were in the previous tests above.

7228 3DMark2001SE points @ 1024x768/32bit/4XFSAA.

Does that score seem OK with my system?
I see quite a few Ti4200's getting 8000-9000, do i need a more powerful computer to get there?
latest test results:
http://service.futuremark.com/servlet/Index?pageid=/orb/projectdetails&projectType=6&projectId=5838748 .

streak
02-04-2003, 08:43 PM
and control panel that I downloaded from the internet. This means that I never installed the CD software or DX9. Could that have anything to do with it?

Should i be using DX9, even though none of the games I play use it?

Wiggo
02-04-2003, 08:48 PM
Yes ya scores are low and maybe this maybe of help, http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=guide&dId=411 ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

streak
02-04-2003, 09:02 PM
all settings at highest performance (v sync off), 1024x768/32. NO FSAA this time.
score 9118.

Wiggo
02-04-2003, 09:04 PM
Now that's more like it as my XP1800+ w/ R9000 scores 7500pts. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

streak
02-04-2003, 09:34 PM
What is the normal way to run the test for comparison with others? Obviously specific system tweaking can produce different results, but out of the normal adjustments.
for example a standard resolution, FSAA on or off, all settings toward performance vs. quality?

Wiggo
02-04-2003, 09:40 PM
Just run the default settings for the test as that is how we compare them as yes the slightest change in the test settings is likely to have an effect which is why we stick to the defaul test. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

RDR
02-05-2003, 12:30 AM
if you had a GF3 in your box before the Radeon - make sure you do a thorough registry cleaning & all traces of the nvidia drivers are completely gone from your system.

Depending on how much work it would be - you may even want to consider a fresh windows install.

streak
02-05-2003, 06:59 AM
I am going to re-format tonight, it's been about 9 months.
I installed DX9 and ran the test again (with cat 3.0 drivers), no FSAA:
9075 points.

http://service.futuremark.com/servlet/Index?pageid=/orb/projectdetails&projectType=6&projectId=5843728

a little less than DX8.1 .

at least I know that DX9 and 3.0 drivers are not problematic.

streak
02-08-2003, 07:21 AM
I did some testing while I was formatting, I even formatted twice just for the hell of it. with my 9500 pro and DX8.1/non-3.0 drivers, I got this score:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5859771

with DX9/3.0/ another fresh format, I have reached this score:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5872838

a comparison of the two.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5859771

The DX9/3.0 is smoother in my opinion, less "glitchy". GTA3 runs like glass w/ AAx4 and AFx8 @ 1025 x 768 x 32.

jamie_horwood
02-08-2003, 09:00 AM
Hey, nice to meet you streak

Hi enhancedstudios?, welcome and enjoy ure stay!!

300WATT APPROVED POWER SUPPLY IN T3007 TASK INTERNATIONAL.
ABIT KG7 RAID
CRUCIAL 184PIN 512MB DDR ECC CAS2.5 2100 REGISTERED
ASUS V8460 ULTRA DELUXE VIDEO CARD
RELYSIS TL-570 15 INCHE TFT RGB INPUT
AUDIGY 2 INTERNAL SOUNDCARD
A4 TECH WIRELESS KEYBOARD AND MICE
LITEON 16X DVD ROM
LITEON CD-RW 40X12X48
AMD 2100+ CPU WITH THERMALTAKE VOLCANO 7
WESTERN DIGITAL 12OGB 7200 RPM CAVIAR SPECIAL EDITION WITH 8MB CACHE
3 80MM YS TECH CASE FANS.

Well i have to say my 4600 performed better in 4x 1.5v with 2x aliasing, 24 zbuffers ,and all other settings to max in 3dmark2000. At the time my processor was only running at 1.3 gig 100bus. My score was 9672.

Wiggo
02-08-2003, 09:36 AM
WTF?? :rolleyes2

jamie_horwood
02-13-2003, 08:00 AM
I'm not sure why i got a score of 9672. Could it be because i wasn't running the full version of 3DMARK 2000? oh well!!! I am going to fork out some dosh for 2001 full edition, and see what score i can muster. happy smiley me..

Wiggo
02-13-2003, 08:15 AM
But ya don't need to pay for it as it's shareware and payin' just entitles ya to more services. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>