PDA

View Full Version : RH8 and windows network



kane2g
02-11-2003, 12:48 PM
OK, so i got the RH8 up and running after much of a struggle. So how do i go about taking resources (Data and MP3s) of my winXP boxes.
I got networking all set up so i can surf. But do i have to mount the drives? or is there some other way?
Im kinda new to linux, so bear with me. But i'm pretty good w. networks and hardware.

kane2g
02-11-2003, 12:59 PM
BTW on the windows machines i have already turned on "Sharing" of all the resources that I use.

FA-MAS
02-13-2003, 12:28 AM
You have to have Samba installed and configured on your Linux machine. When you do, you can use smbclient, and it will show you the shares on the Windows network. Then you can copy stuff over. Be sure to configure SWAT also, it makes managing Samba so much easier.

You can get it here:
http://www.samba.org/

But, if Redhat's like I remember you have 3 packages you need.
They are on the CD, last time I checked.

samba client
samba common
samba server

then configuration should be easy, for help check the HowTO
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SMB-HOWTO.html

Later

kane2g
02-13-2003, 01:36 AM
Parts are getting here on the 17th. The other RH box isnt stable, its either the box or the new Gnome, so will have to wait. but thanks for the reply.
I cant wait to play with it.