PDA

View Full Version : HTTP Authentication



Slamo
02-02-2002, 06:24 PM
I am trying to create a website that is only accessable by a password. I want a popup box to display before the page even loads, I think you know what I'm talking about. Does anybody know how to do this?

Anonymous
02-02-2002, 06:26 PM
Wouldn't be easy and I'm pretty sure you'd need your own *server* with software to do it. Anyone care to expand on what I've said. My knowledge is fairly limited in this area.

Mr. C
02-02-2002, 08:15 PM
A simple password can be executed by javascript.
Should work fine on a site hosted by an ISP.

For a more complex password function, you will require server access. So you would have to host it yourself, or pay for the site.

Anonymous
02-02-2002, 08:22 PM
Heh, javascript passwording. Been there, done that. Too easy to find passwords.

Mr. C
02-02-2002, 08:45 PM
Heh, javascript passwording. Been there, done that. Too easy to find passwords.

Yes - it would only prove effective against those who are honest and/or uneducated in javascript.

Honesty on the internet? Now there's a concept!

Slamo
02-03-2002, 08:57 AM
so running my own server would be a bad thing?

is it expensive?

Mr. C
02-03-2002, 01:00 PM
Just requires a 24/7 connection and the skills to set it up.

Phool
02-03-2002, 01:24 PM
is your site big enough to warrant its own server?

why dont you just add some simple php tags to the start of all the pages?

for example

< ? if(isset($password)){
if($password == 'yourpassword'){
? >
this is where the html goes gor your site...
< ? die;}? >

this is where the html goes for unauthorised viewers...

to acess the site you would just type
http://server/page?password=yourpassword

this is dependant on your hosts webserver abilities.
Some offer ASP support rather than PHP and some offfer none...

Slamo
02-03-2002, 02:08 PM
ok, might give it a try, do servers such as geocities offer php support

Andy
02-03-2002, 02:12 PM
i don't think they even offer perl scripting support, so i doubt they will support php

Phool
02-03-2002, 09:40 PM
i seriously doubt if it is enabled on geocites. You will have to find a free PHP enebaled webhost.... :P

SileNceR
02-06-2002, 01:44 PM
php can actually do proper HTTP Basic Authentication by sending the page format header etc and popping up the proper browser specified logon box which you can check in a script. the beauty of it is that the only way yuou can get the password is by getting ftp or shell access to the server as it is not shown in any way on the end users page.

brashquido
02-08-2002, 01:54 PM
I use IIS 5.0 which allows me to password a site as you require (as any webserver worth it's crust should), and host my own site at home using Dynamic DNS for name service. I have an 256KBPS/64KBPS ADSL conneciton so it isn't too bad, over a modem would be fairly crap! If you like I can host a site for you. I'm moving soon so I'll be off the air until at least the end of Feb, but when I come back I should have a have a very tasty 1.5MBPS/256KBPS ADSL link!!

sKuLLsHoT
02-10-2002, 10:38 AM
brash, with the rate of outages telstra have - assuming u mean telstra adsl, i can't see how good it is to host anything on adsl :D

might start doing that myself...hrm -i'm in the middle (512/128)

Albinus
02-10-2002, 10:45 AM
He's on Netspace ADSL I think :?:

brashquido
02-10-2002, 10:50 AM
I'wouldn't touch Tel$tra with a 10 foot barge pole. I'm going with Netspace most likely. $200 per month for a 1.5MBPS/256KBPS connection with 15GB download and $0.09 for overdata. Which is still a ****eload of money, but the equal Tel$tra account is $446 a month with 10GB download and nearly $0.19 per meg for overdata!!

I forgot to mention that I have been hosting 4 sites on my existing FREE:D :D :D 256KBPS/64KBPS for nearly 12 months with at least 98% uptime. The other reason I'm going with Netspace is I worked there for three months and know the guys there actually have half an idea on what they're on about.

ne0z
02-16-2002, 04:25 AM
if you have a decent internet connection (i.e DSL w/static IP, or cable) you could just use IIS with Win2k server. If you don't have a good connection you can still use IIS just use one of the dynamic DNS sites to direct to your server. With IIS you password protect very easily. JMHO

brashquido
02-16-2002, 06:24 AM
That's what I have been doing. I'm using IIS 5.0 to host my sites.

Birdkiller
02-22-2002, 06:50 AM
http://www.instisec.com/publico/descargas/default.en.asp
some programs to help test the strength of a passworded website :geek:

Raven
02-23-2002, 10:41 AM
Apache is much much much more reliable/secure than IIS though.

sKuLLsHoT
02-27-2002, 10:31 AM
i recall webjump and 50megs as having php support...correct me if i'm wrong

www.webjump.com
www.50megs.com