PDA

View Full Version : GeForce4 Ti4200



cslord15
03-11-2003, 05:22 AM
OK...I need some serious help. I have an MSI GeForce4 Ti4200 64MB 4x AGP card. I was experiencing a lot of problems with it. I was getting very low frame rates (as low as 8-10) on games such as Medal of Honor and Half-Life. Eventually, I stumbled across NVMax, the tweaking utility. With it, I turned off all of my anti-aliasing, anisotropic filtering, and v-sync, as well as lowered the mip-mapping and overclocked the memory by 100 MHz (still have adequate cooling.) I even went into the BIOS to ensure that it was running at AGP 4x and I adjusted AGP aparture to 256MB, turned off shadowing, etc. I still only saw a frame rate increase of 4 fps!!! Can anyone help me?

Specs:
AMD Athlon XP 1800
ASUS A7N266-VM motherboard
512 MB PC 2100 DDR SDRAM
40 GB Maxtor Drive
Windows 98 SE
(Video Card Listed Above)
15" CRT Monitor (85 Hz Refresh, but that shouldn't make a difference as I turned v-sync off)

rugbydude
03-11-2003, 02:03 PM
Well can you first tell us what drivers you are useing. Some of them aren't too good. Also changing the game settings will help performance:thumb: Why not check out www.pcpitstop.com and test your system for problems:cheers:

cslord15
03-11-2003, 11:38 PM
I only have version 30.82 Detonator WHQL drivers (the newer ones aren't compatible with NVMax.

cslord15
03-11-2003, 11:41 PM
Another thing, on games like Medal of Honor, I have all decals turned off, effect, model and environment detail turned to their lowest levels, and the LOD turned all the way down. I even run my games in 800x600x16 bit mode, and still nothing...

rugbydude
03-12-2003, 12:09 AM
Try upgradeing to a 4*.** driver and useing Powerstrip (http://www.entechtaiwan.com/ps.htm) to overclock:D

alex250
03-12-2003, 04:15 AM
I have just bought a asus ti4200 otes 64mb, but have been having problems with my display, if I looked at this thread rugbydude's right hand 'green face' on both posts would have vertical white lines through it also register, members etc at the top also have vertical white lines through.

The only way I can fix this is to go to display settings, advanced, troubleshoot and then untick enable write combining what does this mean? should it be unticked? any help appreciated.

theyneverknew
03-12-2003, 04:58 AM
cslord u really need to get new drivers, the latest WHQL ones are the 41.09's which u can get from nvidia.com, or better yet check guru3d.com for newer drivers, i use the 43.00's myself and they work great :thumb: I agree with Rugbydude that Powerstrip is an awesome OC tool :D definitely d/l that.

cslord15
03-12-2003, 06:08 AM
I dont really need an overclocking tool. My card's drivers installed an overclocking tool already. What I need is something that I can adjust things like fast writes with, along with advanced options with D3D or OpenGL. As for the new drivers, I guess it's worth a shot.

Rack1600
03-12-2003, 04:42 PM
Sounds like there is something more serious than just performance tweaks will do. Drivers can really mess things up, so try that first, definitely.:bounce: :bounce:

cslord15
03-13-2003, 11:43 PM
OK there's an error with the 43.00 drivers from guru, they had a file missing and it didn't revert back to 30.82. Anyway, I had to reinstall my video card after that which took a while. Also, I actually had 40.72 Detonator for a while, but it wasn't helping worth a s**t. I'm starting to think that it's my power supply. It's always supplying too little voltage for the 3.3v on the video (it's only supplying about 2.9v). Also (don't tell AMD) I just found out that it isnt even certified for AMD processors. I'm thinkin of getting a new one ASAP...could that be the answer to my problem?

Jim_E
03-15-2003, 06:18 AM
I just got a GeForce 4 Ti 4200 with AGP 8X.
I ONLY GET 4-5 ON CS!!!!
whats wrong with this!!!
ive got a 2.53Ghz Pentium 4 Processor and cable internet. It also says that it doesnt accept Open GL Graphics???
Whats going on???

cslord15
03-15-2003, 09:00 AM
A few things I need to know:
1-Manufacturer of Card (Asus, PNY, MSI, etc.)
2-Driver Version (also tell me if drivers are Detonator and/or WHQL)

Also, you might try turning off anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering, as well as disabling V-sync...I recommend downloading detonator driver 30.82 and getting NVMax 4 for tweaking.

theyneverknew
03-15-2003, 07:56 PM
i'd suggest getting a newer set of drivers 4x.xx something, the 30.82 were never designed for GF4 cards. If u wanna oc or tweak settings get powerstrip, it lets u do at least as much, probably more than nvmax. The most likely solution is that the drivers ur using are really old, or just not agreeing with ur setup :(

cslord15
03-17-2003, 09:05 AM
When I use drivers like 40.72, for some reason, it always puts my computer on standby, and when I try to take it off standby, it freezes up, so 30.82 is my only choice for now. Also, I found out that my video is running at 1x...but there's nothing I can do about it in the BIOS or anywhere else. HELP!

theyneverknew
03-18-2003, 08:09 AM
powerstrip will let u change ur AGP setting in the adapter options tab, otherwise try looking for a bios update. That really sucks about the 4x.xx drivers not working :( They made a big difference in performance for me, I gained almost 1000 points in 3dmark 2001. good luck on raising the AGP setting that'll probably be a major performance boost :thumb:

cslord15
03-19-2003, 05:02 AM
OK...
I've upgraded to 41.07, downloaded Powerstrip, set my video to 4x. Still no improvement, I've only been getting 2900 on 3DMark2001, and I've seen benchmarks run with similar systems like mine with Ti4200s as well, and they get 10,000! Any other options?

cslord15
03-19-2003, 05:10 AM
Another thing. I know for a fact that the Ti4200 doesn't fullyfully support DirectX 9.0, but is it worth a shot upgrading to that? (I have 8.1 right now).

cslord15
03-19-2003, 10:06 AM
Everyone, completely disregard my other messages, this is probably the cause of my problems:
In the System Info of 3DMark2001, it doesn't detect my video running on my AGP slot - my AGP card is "running" on a PCI slot! This isn't right. Is there some kind of detection problem? What should I do?

rugbydude
03-19-2003, 01:58 PM
Well are u sure you have the card in the agp slot:o

cslord15
03-19-2003, 11:32 PM
Yes, I am...It's in the brown slot next to the white PCI slots, right?
Anyway, could it be because I have my modem in the PCI slot closest to my card?

jagzzzzzz
03-20-2003, 06:48 PM
Firstly do you have agp enabled in bios? Also is hardware accelaration boosted up? I'd suggest totally deleting all drivers and do the install process again. I have seen others do this when 2001se didn't show their AGP, but had a N/A in that slot, and this stuff worked. Lastly I don't think you have anything wrong with hardware, I think it's probably operator error.

cslord15
03-21-2003, 03:23 AM
Thx man! I just reinstalled the drivers and it displayed my card at 4x! It more than doubled my 3DMark2001 Score (2800-8100) and I'm getting such better performance. Thanks a lot, dude!

rugbydude
03-21-2003, 03:36 AM
Glad to see u got it working:thumb: