PDA

View Full Version : Buying a PC



Slamo
02-05-2002, 09:17 AM
(Posted in BG as it doesn't really cover one specific topic)

I am thinking of buying a PC. I am making it from parts as Kheldar suggested that it would be cheaper.

This is what I am putting in it. Could someone please tell me if it is all compatible with each other.

Chaintech 7AJA2 Motherboard (with on-board sound)
AMD Duron 1200 (266 Mhz)
384 MB PC-133 SDRAM
SONY 12/8/32 CD-RW
10 mbps Network Card
2-port USB PCI Card
32 MB AGP Geforce
Floppy Disk Drive
ATX Case
Microsoft Internet K/B + Mouse
LG 17-inch 1770
Seagate HDD 60 Gig 7200RPM
2 X IDE Cables

This is about my price range as I already have some of the parts I have listed. Will it all work together (more specifically the Processor and Motherboard)?

Beefy
02-05-2002, 09:22 AM
All sounds good.. y the USB PCI card though? you've already got two USB ports at the back...

also, if you can upgrade to a 10/100 NIC, it would be much better.. but that's not really that important.

i'm assuming that the ATX case comes with a PSU as well..

Slamo
02-05-2002, 09:25 AM
yes, 230 watt to be exact

Anonymous
02-05-2002, 09:45 AM
Slamo, buy a new case with at least 300 watt power supply to avoid future headaches, I can get them for $50 in Melbourne, cases aren't that bad either.

Beefy
02-05-2002, 10:02 AM
really? well then.. can ya get me a nice little ATX case and PSU? :)

Slamo
02-05-2002, 11:20 AM
I might put in an order for one of those too tweaky :bounce: :bounce:

Bahamut Zer0
02-05-2002, 11:48 AM
ide cables dont need purchasing seperatly, they come with the hdd & mobo. (ie, 1 ata/100 comes with hdd, and 1 ata/100 cable comes with mobo as well as an ata/33 cable)

unless your getting rounded ones of course... :)

what geforce are you getting?

If its an mx400, id go with the 64meg version. the mx needs all the help it can get. (not that its a bad card)

you will need that 300w psu especially since your going amd. nothing lower than 300w!

and yeah, ditch the usb card, your mobo has 2 ports & another 2 acessible thru the header cable you get with the mobo)
(puts another 2 usb ports where your pci slots would go, only it plugs into the mobo)

if the sony is new (and not salvaged from you current pc) then drop it for a liteon 24x

and if your ram is 3 sticks of 128, get a single stick of 256. will save you money in the long run, even tho its expensive now.

oh, and a 10/100 network card is a must. if you goto lans, and your mates are anything like me, theyll prolly bash your skull in for slowing them down with your 10bt card.

Wiggo
02-05-2002, 12:08 PM
As the others said, 300w PSU, but ya Duron will be a 200MHz FSB as they have not been intro'd yet at 266MHz. A little puzzled about ya m/b selection though as the ECS K7S5A, which supports both DDR & SDRAM can be purchased for around $150-160aus and have a much better performance than that Elite board. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Beefy
02-05-2002, 12:27 PM
you will need that 300w psu especially since your going amd. nothing lower than 300w!


Umm.. against popular opinion. i'm going to have to disagree here. I can't say i've had any problems with my 250W PSU. and i'm running an Athlon, i've run both gf2mx and gf3 agp cards in my system.. 4 drives all the time.. 3 pci cards.... multiple system fans.. and I haven't had a problem.


And remember guys, a lot of this stuff he isn't actually buying new.. he's got a lot of it already, so upgrading some parts is just gonna cost more and mean he's got spare bits sitting around...

oh, and with that gf comment about getting 64mb.. it's not really all that important, especially on a budget.. as long as it's a gf2mx400.. it's good enough.. my old gf2mx400 with 32mb scored 700 points better in 3dmark2k1 than a gf2mx with 64mb...

Slamo
02-05-2002, 12:40 PM
well the reason for the motherboard was that I am limited by the shops that I am buying from, I need a decent online Australian store as the one I am buying from currently doesn't have a very extensive range.

ANd Beefy's right, I do have most of the parts listed there anyway, I am just salvaging parts out of the family computer that I have bought for it which will go into my new system.

And that Geforce is only a geforce, not a geforce 2. I'm trying to cut as many costs as possible. So far I have bought it down to $1200

Slamo
02-05-2002, 01:00 PM
Update, this is now what I am going for:

ECS K7S5A with integrated sound and 100 mbps rj45 adapter)
Athlon XP1600+
32 Meg AGP Geforce
Aussie PC Floppy Disk Drive
Microsoft Internet K/B + Mouse
LG 17-inch 1770
Seagate HDD 60 Gig 7200RPM
384 MB PC-133 SDRAM
SONY 12/8/32 CD-RW

Bahamut Zer0
02-05-2002, 01:55 PM
Well, if you plan on overclocking the duron (which i assume you will be) then the 300w is a must. the 250 is *just* managing to power everything stock. What cooler are you getting too?

the gf32meg beating the 64meg in 3dmark is valid. Ive seen em do it, but in games they are noticebly struggling. And thats where it counts really.

if youre looking for good online stores, id give Scorptec (http://www.scorptec.com.au) a look, as well as
Computer Alliance (http://www.computeralliance.com.au)
I shop there all the time. Great prices, and matching service.

Beefy
02-05-2002, 03:27 PM
Well, if you plan on overclocking the duron (which i assume you will be) then the 300w is a must. the 250 is *just* managing to power everything stock. What cooler are you getting too?
[/b]

heheh.. i must be one special exception to the rule then.. i've oc'ed my ath.. no probs at all.. but yeah, i know what you're getting at.

[b]
the gf32meg beating the 64meg in 3dmark is valid. Ive seen em do it, but in games they are noticebly struggling. And thats where it counts really.


I didn't notice that much diff myself..

Albinus
02-05-2002, 05:47 PM
And that Geforce is only a geforce, not a geforce 2. I'm trying to cut as many costs as possible. So far I have bought it down to 00


Are you sure that they're not trying to flog you a GeForce2 MX200??? They are as cheap as chips, but the performance is at least 50% worse than the original "GeForce", the GeForce256 :uhh:

Slamo
02-06-2002, 12:15 PM
Well what is a good video card that is value for money?

Beefy
02-06-2002, 12:28 PM
my opinion: a geforce 2 MX 400... doesn't need to be 64mb or anything.. 32 is fine.. a mx400 is much better than a mx200, even if the 200 has more ram...

if you wanna stretch that little bit further.. you could got for a gf3 ti200.. but that's a fair step up in price...

Slamo
02-06-2002, 12:38 PM
I am currently trying to decide weather to go for DDR or SDRAM as the motherboard I am buying supports both but not both at once. Which is the best value for money at the moment?

Slamo
02-06-2002, 12:57 PM
<font size="4">UPDATE!</font>

This may be final so if there is something that isn't compatible, please tell me now, I really need to know if the Athlon will work with that mobo.

Anonymous
02-06-2002, 03:52 PM
I don't really like those Just Cooler things...

Slamo
02-06-2002, 04:31 PM
why not, they look like a good idea

Slamo
02-07-2002, 09:38 AM
anyhow, when I come to melb to build my PC Tweak we're gonna have to buy some case fans and do some modding, maybe a perspex window as well, whaddya reckon? :D

Anonymous
02-07-2002, 12:30 PM
why not, they look like a good idea

I've used them before and didn't find them effective, they hinderair flow if anything.