PDA

View Full Version : which cable modem



BaconGrease
02-08-2002, 04:42 AM
Time to get on the broadband action
Gonna go with cable, just need to decide between the lynksis modem and the motorola surfboard.
Any suggestions?

Wiggo
02-08-2002, 06:48 AM
Well us Aussies can't help ya there as we're supplied the modem by the cable operators here. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

wuntvor
02-08-2002, 08:12 AM
you have a choice?? my cable provider just gave me one, I had no options.

Linksys does usually make good modems though :)

Hughesey
02-08-2002, 01:36 PM
yeah I got stuck with the Nortel Networks CM100 optarse gave me... big ass finned beast :)

Wiggo
02-08-2002, 05:51 PM
Hughesey[/size]]
yeah I got stuck with the Nortel Networks CM100 optarse gave me... big ass finned beast :)
That they are but mine's been goin' strong for over two years now. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

BaconGrease
02-08-2002, 10:51 PM
If you buy your own modem they charge you a bit less on the monthly fee (no rental fee).
The motorola and linksys can each be had for about $100.

Albinus
02-09-2002, 09:48 AM
With [email protected] in Australia, when you sign up they give you two choices. The first choice is to pay A$10/month higher subscription fee, but the modem is subsidised (ie cheaper installation fee). This also comes with a 12-month contract. The other option is to buy the modem outright for over A$500, and pay only A$64.95/month (cheaper when you use other Optus services as well). There is no contract on this plan, as Optus doesn't have to subsidise a modem.

And as far as I know the only modem Optus supplies is the Motorola SurfBaud..... has anyone been supplied a different one from Optus? :?:

Andy
02-09-2002, 10:30 AM
i got a diff one, i got an RCA cable modem with my optus install:
http://www.rca.com/documents/DCM245R(LG)_700693_25.jpg (http://www.rca.com/product/viewdetail/0,2588,PI700111-CI700094,00.html?)

Wiggo
02-09-2002, 11:02 AM
Actually Albinus there are 4 or 5 different modems used by Optus.
<center>:cheers:</center>

Albinus
02-09-2002, 12:25 PM
It might be a regional thing then - all my friends in Brisbane over the past 2 years have been supplied SurfBaud modems with their connection :confused:

FA-MAS
02-10-2002, 11:38 AM
I would go with the Motorola Surfboard. On all the Cable calls that I have taken. I've never seen one of those go bad. Yet the Linksys I have.

Later

ne0z
02-12-2002, 04:41 AM
The Motorola Surfboard's are great modems, that is what I have

BaconGrease
02-12-2002, 10:34 PM
sounds like the motorola it is... having said that whenever I go into the local computer store they seem to be everywhere... now for some reason the appear to be all out.
Anybody running XP with the modem, any driver problems?

wuntvor
02-13-2002, 10:28 AM
there aren't any drivers for an ethernet cable modem, it's just a bridge

the drivers you'll need to worry about are the NIC drivers

I run XP and yet to have problems with NIC drivers :)

BaconGrease
02-13-2002, 08:25 PM
Thanks Wuntvor...
I figured that out last night doing some reading (can always read more!). Looks like drivers only apply to the modem if you plug it in via USB.
Can't wait till tomorrow (may not make it to work on friday!)

wuntvor
02-14-2002, 06:55 AM
haha, trust me, you won't want to :D

ne0z
02-14-2002, 09:42 AM
hope you enjoy it Bacon Grease