Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 UEFI Setup questions about "Storage Configuration", SATA/IDE/AHCI, etc.

Question Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 UEFI Setup questions about "Storage Configuration", SATA/IDE/AHCI, etc.

Hi, I'd like to know if the 'default' settings for my new motherboard are correct. I'm an absolute novice at this, so please bear with me if my questions seem strange.

My system (pertinent parts to this topic):
    -- ASRock Extreme 3 Gen 3 motherboard (using the default BIOS that came with the board).
    -- Western Digital Caviar 'Black' (model: WD5002AALX-00J37A0), 500GB SATA hard disk drive. [see Issue 1., below).
    -- Intel Core i5 (2500K)
    -- note: I'm using the internal video from the CPU, internal LAN from MB, internal sound, etc.

I have not yet installed ANY updates for this motherboard. I don't know which ones are necessary, or anything about precautions I should take, and so on. NEED ADVICE.

The problem:

Issue 1. The ASRock UEFI Setup Utility now shows that my HDD is operating as an IDE drive, and I don't know why. Shouldn't it be SATA, to work faster?

Here's what the UEFI "Storage Configuration" option shows:

* [SATA MODE] - It shows "IDE Mode"
    under that, it shows...

* SATA Controller 0 - Compatible
    * SATA Controller 1 - Enabled
    * Hard Disk S.M.A.R.T - Enabled
    and, below that list it shows...

* SATA3_0 : NOT DETECTED
    * SATA3_1 : NOT DETECTED
    * SATA 2_2 : Atapi iHAS124 C Atapi (that's my DVD drive).
    * SATA2_3 : NOT DETECTED
    * SATA2_4 : NOT DETECTED
    * SATA2_5 : NOT DETECTED

The "pop-up" box for the "SATA Mode" at the very top shows these options...

[SATA Mode]
    * Disabled
    * IDE Mode (it is highlighted!).
    * AHCI Mode
    * RAID Mode