Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there an easy way to OC incrementally and safely with the Extreme Tuning Utility?

Question Is there an easy way to OC incrementally and safely with the Extreme Tuning Utility?

I'm new to overclocking, so I'd like to know if there's a safe and easy way to gradually overclock the MB using the ASRock Extreme Tuning Utility (version 0.1.110)? My MB is an ASRock Extreme 3 Gen 3 and everything is at default settings now. I know ASUS has built-in safeguards to prevent catastrophy, but I don't know about this one. I merely want to experiment by overclocking in very small increments, then look at the CPU temperature between each adjustment. I have no idea which one(s) of those 8 or so values to use, or how to use them properly. Is there a fairly simple way to do it, without first getting a PHD in Computer Science? Your comments appreciated.
    MB: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 * CPU: Intel Corei5 (2500K) * GPU: Intel Onboard * SOUND: Onboard * CPU COOLER: CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo * PSU: Seasonic X650W 80+Gold
    * RAM: G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB-F3-1600C8D-8GAB * CASE: LIAN LI PC-A70F ATX Full Tower Aluminum * HDD: WD500GB SATA 6GB's 64MB Cache Caviar 'Black' (WD5003AZEX)

amadino13 is offline Junior Member

Default Re: Is there an easy way to OC incrementally and safely with the Extreme Tuning Utility?

I tried to do it but you won't get very far. Do it from bios. Raise the CPU multiplier bit by bit and test if your system is stable using prime95. If its not stable give it more voltage. You also want to monitor the temperature by using core temp.

Default Re: Is there an easy way to OC incrementally and safely with the Extreme Tuning Utility?

Thank you for replying, but...