Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Installed New BIOS Chip In z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3, new i5-3350p, and new HD 7850 -- No Video Signal??

bangsheadondesk is offline Junior Member

Default Installed New BIOS Chip In z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3, new i5-3350p, and new HD 7850 -- No Video Signal??

I'm not a total newbie at computer building/upgrading, but I've got a problem that I having trouble with. I am hoping I am missing something simple and someone here can help me figure this out.

I was previously running the Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 with a i3-2120 and using the integrated Intel HD graphics only without a discrete card. I recently bought a i5-3350p and a Gigabyte Radeon HD 7850.

I realized I must update the BIOS on the motherboard to use the Ivy Bridge processors, so I got ASRock to send me a new BIOS chip. I installed the chip without any problems (as far as I can tell). I also added in the i5-3350p and the HD 7850 at the same time.

I powered everything on--it booted up, no beeps, and stayed on, but there was no video signal to my monitor. I then tried connecting the computer to my TV using the HDMI port instead of the DVI and have the same problem.

One thought I have is that the CPU support list for the Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 states the i5-3350p is supported with BIOS ver 2.3, but I have no idea what BIOS version is on the new chip that ASRock sent me. I am guessing it is 2.1, because I got it a while back (2-3 months maybe) before I bought the component upgrades. Maybe the i5-3350p not being supported is a problem, but does that make sense if the computer boots up and stays on, and also why there is no video signal?

Now I'm thinking maybe I should have went with a CPU model that has integrated GPU.

Anyone see what I am doing wrong or where the problem is? Hope to be back up and running soon. Thanks in advance.