Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Memory Question from the Newbie!!!

kn1ghtride is offline Junior Member

Default Memory Question from the Newbie!!!

Hello TweakTown Friends,
    My name is Joe and I am a newbie to this forum. I have a core I7 system with a ASROCK X58 Extreme motherboard, I just updated my ram to
    Mushkin Enhanced Radioactive 12GB (6 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 999005 , 2 WD Caviar 2TB hard drives, 1 Seagate Barracuda 2 TB hard drive, NVidea Quadro FX580 video card, and I am running Windows 7 Professional.
    My question is does anyone know why I installed 24 GB of RAM and it only shows 16 GB? I have not updated my bios as there are many bios updates and I don't want to install the wrong version and cause system problems. I forgot to mention the case is a Cooler Master Centurion with 5 fans and a massive heatsink/fan on my CPU.
    I'm sure I need to find a change in the bios but the owners manual is a little light on all the extra settings on this MB.
    Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Joe

parsec is offline Senior Member

Default Re: Memory Question from the Newbie!!!

Well I'll be darned, haven't heard about this issue in quite a while, the old x58/i7-900 series CPU "missing memory" problem. Very common on X58 boards, had it myself on mine (not your board.) This affected any X58 board, no manufacture was immune to this issue. Forums all over the Internet are filled with threads about this, but you'd need to Google for them, since X58 boards are not a new platform and not discussed as much anymore.