Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: 990FX Extreme4 Bios 2.0 issues

jayhawk261 is offline Junior Member

Default 990FX Extreme4 Bios 2.0 issues

Hello all. I'm a newb here to the board. I recently upgraded my 990FX Extreme 4 to Bios 2.0 and had some memory problems. Why did I upgrade? Well, I guess you can say that I like the challenge! I have updated dozens of bios on different boards and even this one with no problems. Unfortunately, this time I had one.

So, here is what happened:

Prior to the ram in my signature, I was running (4) 4GB sticks of Corsair Vengeance CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B. I installed the new 2.0 bios Thursday, and that is when I had problems. On every start up, the system would hang and not post. Error code on Dr Debug showed 36. After a little searching I found out it was a ram issue. I then started testing the ram in different configurations and in different slots. What I finally found out was that 1 of my 4 sticks would work in any slot. The other 3 would not work in any configuration.

I decided I would try different ram to see what happened. I picked up the Crucial Ballistix BLE2CP8G3D1869DE1TX0 which is a dual channel 16GB pack. I installed these and got the error 36. I pulled one and ran in single channel mode and it did boot and run.

My next step was to revert back to the 1.80 BIOS. I did that, and was able to get everything to work except it only recognizes my crucial ram as 1333 rather than the 1866 that it is.

After a lot of searching, I have not found a good answer to my initial question. What is the issue that I am having with the 2.0 bios that caused it to have problems with my ram. I would like to be able to run the 2.0 BIOS. Is this a solvable problem?