Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: how to OC an i5 3.3ghz 2500k on ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3? (beginner OC questions plz help)

MorePower! is offline Junior Member

Default how to OC an i5 3.3ghz 2500k on ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3? (beginner OC questions plz help)

I'm trying to figure out how to overclock my cpu from 3.3ghz i5 2500k up to 4.5 or 4.6ghz. I'm completely new to messing with the bios however.

Where is a good place to start in OCing? Should I start off messing with the cpu ratio stuff and put that and the voltage up higher and see what happens? I've read that you need to sometimes turn off speed step, spread spectrum, and the c state support (and C3 and C6 too). I don't want to go in there and just start randomly turning things off or on with no rhyme or reason. Thoughts on what may need to be turned off first and what can be left on?

KrisW is offline Junior Member

Default Re: how to OC an i5 3.3ghz 2500k on ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3? (beginner OC questions plz help)

Default Re: how to OC an i5 3.3ghz 2500k on ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3? (beginner OC questions plz help)

Thanks for the link. this guide is awesome.

At the end of the guide under "Getting closer..." I don't understand what the process is here. What is the initial test for this stage? Also if you fail it, how are we supposed to achieve the max cpu multiplier if we reduce the cpu multiplier? Why does the 2nd fail say "(max vcore)" there? Is there two separate ways to fail the test?

parsec is offline Senior Member

The initial test is: TEST: Pass 5min of "The Prime Test".

There is an entry for Prime Test, that describes how to run the Prime 95 program to test the OC, for five minutes.

First, Max Vcore is the maximum CPU voltage that is considered safe for your CPU. That should have been stated earlier in the guide, or instructions given to find it.

Notice what each condition states: