Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: 990 FX Extreme 4 dual boot config of Windows XP Pro and Windows 7 Ultimate IDE to SATA device

AbdulHakeem1 is offline Junior Member

Default 990 FX Extreme 4 dual boot config of Windows XP Pro and Windows 7 Ultimate IDE to SATA device

I am a beginner. I recently assembled my first new build using an AsRock MoBo. I transplanted some old hardware into the new build. I transplanted my old PCI slot IDE connected TV tuner, as well as, an IDE harddrive (but added a 2TB harddrive as a boot drive) and IDE optical drive. The BIOS settings are at SATA Mode = IDE Mode (for the SATA 1 through SATA 6 ports), and Marvell SATA 3 Operation Mode = IDE (for the SATA 7 and SATA 8 ports).
    The Optical drive has some problems with the DVD laser, however, works fine for the CD laser, so, I had to get a new Optical drive and settled for the LG UH12NS29 Blu-ray burner with SATA connectors...I thought that the device was malfunctioning and caused severe malfunctioning of the operating systems...so I sent it back and got a LiteON Optical Drive Blu-ray player with SATA connectors...I am still having severe malfunctioning of the operating systems and motherboard. The MoBo still does not recognize the Optical drive in BIOS, or the IDE Harddrive now (where as it detected this harddrive before)
    My question is ...because when I installed the operating systems the IDE Optical drive was connected ...will this new SATA Optical drive necessitate that I reinstall the operating systems to get the MoBo to recognize the optical drive and the IDE harddrive? With having XP Pro in a dual boot config will I be able to set SATA Mode and Marvell SATA 3 Operation Mode to AHCI and AHCI not have a conflict with XP Pro?
    Last edited by AbdulHakeem1; 05-14-2013 at 04:48 AM. Reason: Did not read clearly.

therube is offline Member