Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Asrock Z87 Extreme6 - OC Questions/problems

ChaosShadow00x is offline Junior Member

Default Asrock Z87 Extreme6 - OC Questions/problems

Hi,

Alright so to start, i'm relatively new to the OC scene. In fact this is my first 'real' swing at overclocking. That said, i'm not some computer n00b, so i fully intend to have a complete understanding of the basics and some of the more advanced things, but I'm at an stage where I need a bit of guidance.

I've looked around online, and i'm having some difficulty. The basic of overclocking is to increase your cpu multiplier to the highest stable state by increasing the clock, and Vcore respectively until you find the optimal cross between temperature and speed with out locking up or crashing.

I, however, cannot find Vcore on my Asrock Z87 Extreme6. I also have absolutely no idea what my core sits at normally, so i didnt even have a BASE LINE i can start tweaking from. Despite all that, by biting the bullet and tweaking things here and there slowly, i determined that CPU Input Voltage might be what is referenced as Vcore. I hope i'm right because i set it to 1.25, and managed to get a stable overclock of 4.2.

Here is where things get hairy, and i get confused. Being away from home, i broke down and decided to start posting this on some forums, but here it is:

I can run stable tests at any level of Intel Burn (including maximum for 1 cycle, and 10 on standard and high, this is not "max" just what i was willing to sit around for), and also about 2 hours of Prime95 with 4 workers going for maximum temp. Temperatures peaked at 82 according to CoreTemp, averaging around 75-78. Cool, i'll take that.