Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: asrock cannot detect my new intel pentium cpu 3.0ghz speed

Default asrock cannot detect my new intel pentium cpu 3.0ghz speed

I changed my old processor intel (r) pentium 4 cpu 1.8ghz to new intel (r) pentium 4 cpu 3.0 ghz on asrock p4i65g mobo with bios version 1.40..
    but when i checked under the bios setup utility, (main menu), the processor type is still 1.8ghz..and in windows, the speed also still the same as the old processor.any help?
    Last edited by youngster; 08-23-2013 at 07:57 AM.

Tyler.Bernath is offline TweakTown Consumer Storage Editor

Default Re: asrock cannot detect my new intel pentium cpu 3.0ghz speed

Are you sure your new CPU is supported by the motherboard BIOS?

sorry...i'm not sure..but how can i find out about that? i'm a novice.tq.
    Last edited by youngster; 08-23-2013 at 08:10 AM.

parsec is offline Senior Member

You check the CPU support list on your board's information and download page:

ASRock > P4i65G

Your CPU appears to be in the CPU support list, and is compatible with all BIOS versions. You need to clear the BIOS/CMOS with the jumper on the board for that purpose.

Have you ever done this before? When this is done, the BIOS settings are all reset to default values. If you use any non-default value settings, you'll need to fix those before you boot into Windows, or some settings will cause problems if not set correctly.

No.I never done this before.But i will try and i will tell the result as soon.TQ very much.