Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: ASRock Z87 Extreme 6

Default ASRock Z87 Extreme 6

Greetings Everyone,

It's my first time assembling a PC, and I purchased the ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 mobo. I'm trying to install it into a Phantom 410 computer case, and I noticed that there are 9 standard ATX Mounting Holes included with the case, but there are 10 mounting holes on the Z87 motherboard. I've installed the mobo with the 9 ATX holes that are "standard," but I'm worried about leaving one of the holes unscrewed.

Is there any reason that a Z87 ATX has 10 holes rather than 9? Should I be concerned about leaving one hole unscrewed?

Thanks in advanced for any replies.

Default Re: ASRock Z87 Extreme 6

You'll most likely get a myriad of answers on this question. Some will say no it's not needed while others will insist it's needed.

My advice, go to any computer repair shop, even BestBuy if they have a GoofSquad in-house(pains me to rec them), and get the missing standoff and screw if needed.

Some case manufacturers are now FINALLY including the proper amount of standoffs. Its only taken them years to finally catch on that newer MB's require ten.
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.

#2 - G.Skill RAM Configurator for your boardSamsung Memory for your boardLatest AMD Chipset Drivers/WindowsLatest AMD Graphics Drivers/WindowsLatest Intel Drivers

#3 - Please use the eXtreme Outer Vision Power Supply Calculator found HERE to determine if it might be your PSU at issue.