Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: z97 extreme 4 + I7 4790k= very bad defaults?

Gdgiordano is offline Junior Member

Exclamation z97 extreme 4 + I7 4790k= very bad defaults?

My i7 was doing 60 degrees sitting on the desktop. Turns out it is because the default bios settings are horrid. The default turbo power boost max is defaulted at 1000 amps instead of intels reccomended 88. Processor current limit set at 1000 amps instead of intels reccomended 105. There was other settings that were insanely off by default. ASrock please update the bios for proper values as your settings are 10 times too high according to Intel.
    After applying intels spec amps and voltages I got a more normal 23 degree avg on idle.
    before yall ask yes I am up to date with 1.30(came installed)
    Please fix this. This is a serious issue that a lot of people don't know how to fix.
    I don't mean to sound like I am flaming ASrock but how do you set 3 Critical numbers to over 10 times what they are supposed to be.
    Anybody else encountered this?

SandsOfTime is offline Member

Default Re: z97 extreme 4 + I7 4790k= very bad defaults?

Today ASRock released BIOS 1.50 for the Z97 Extreme4. Maybe this issues are fixed?

parsec is offline Senior Member

Quote Originally Posted by Gdgiordano View Post
    My i7 was doing 60 degrees sitting on the desktop. Turns out it is because the default bios settings are horrid. The default turbo power boost max is defaulted at 1000 amps instead of intels reccomended 88. Processor current limit set at 1000 amps instead of intels reccomended 105. There was other settings that were insanely off by default. ASrock please update the bios for proper values as your settings are 10 times too high according to Intel.
    After applying intels spec amps and voltages I got a more normal 23 degree avg on idle.