Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Asrock x99 Extreme 4 Issues

nlheldt is offline Junior Member

Default Asrock x99 Extreme 4 Issues

This is only my third build ever and i normally don't overclock etc. and would appreciate some help if possible. First issue I have been dealing with is a strange boot up problem. Basically when i hit the power button it starts up for half a second and then shuts off and then boots itself backup again like nothing is wrong. Its like as if i reset the csmos every time but i don't. I tried unplugging the power from the wall and resetting the csmos and sometimes that fixes it for a little while and then it starts doing it again.

Second problem i have faced is when i enable the profile XMP settings the computer is completely unstable. I get blue screens (page default errors) and windows errors. I am a complete noob when it comes to overclocking so i wouldnt even know what to change. Its setting my ram which is currently at 2100 but its suppose to be 2800 @ 2802 and the processor from 3500 to 4000. I ran memtest and prime95 and everything has passed with no issues. I have the latest bios update as well. Everything on default settings works perfect except that first issue with the weird boot up thing but it doesnt seem to hurt anything.

Thanks so much!

-Nate

Britgeezer is offline Member

Default Re: Asrock x99 Extreme 4 Issues

Before you OC, you need to get the PC stable under standard conditions. There are lots of OC guides so I will let you do a little online reading.

What error messages does the onboard display give you? What beeps do you get?

I see you have 16GB of memory, is that 4x 4GB or 2x 8GB. 4 sticks of "same" memory is often a problem. What happens when you use only 2 sticks? If 4 ,mark the pairs and try to keep them together.

Lets get you stable and then you can think about OC.