Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: ASRock X99 Extreme6 Build

Default ASRock X99 Extreme6 Build

Hello

I'm trying to figure out what kind of components I should buy for my workstation build, and I've tried to ask around on a couple of forums but I've been out of luck getting a proper answer.
    I work with music, as a composer with templates filled to the brim and the huge sample libraries I work with eats RAM for breakfast. That's why I want 128 GB ram.
    Here is what I had in mind:

Intel Xeon E5-1650 V3, Asus GeForce GTX 660, Corsair 300R - System Build - PCPartPicker

Would this be a stable build?

I could change the Extreme6 with Extreme4 if it's more stable and reliable, but I'm no expert on these things. I just need a pc that follows my workflow and can last me quite a while.

I've seen people with a dual xeon as well,but I think I'm waiting that one out for the moment unless I would benefit from the two processors.
    Any help is more than welcome!

Thank you! :)

parsec is offline Senior Member

Default Re: ASRock X99 Extreme6 Build

Asking if this build will be "stable" is difficult to answer, since what is the definition of stable? That the build will function normally from the start? Or are the parts all compatible?

The X99 platform is new and expensive, so not owned by many people. Direct experience with it by PC enthusiasts is still quite limited.

Are you basing your choices on what is available to you locally? I ask because the price of your PSU choice is much more than it needs to be.

The Xeon processor cannot be over clocked, if you care about that whatsoever.