Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Advice On Painting An Xbox 360

Default Advice On Painting An Xbox 360

I'm new to the case modding scene, but I was thinking about getting a new face plate and spray painting my Xbox 360 when it came so that it doesn't look quite so lame. In my head I picture it being black with blue flames and a glossy finish.

It seems to me that painting a CRT monitor might be similair to painting the 360 as they both have a matte plastic finish and lots of venting. The monitor painting FAQ's I've read all seem to reccommend removing the monitor cover from the monitor before painting it. On the Xbox site however it says you can't remove the 360 cover without voiding your warranty. After seeing one up close yesterday, and reading more about it today it sounds like they've removed all the screws on the outside (I don't know how they'll be servicing them then!) Anyway, basically it may be hard / impossible to detach the cover from the unit for painting. Does anyone have any idea if painting the 360 with the cover still on the unit might be okay? Is what I'm thinking practical? Any suggestions or websites would rock! Thx!

Last edited by praxis; 11-10-2005 at 10:08 AM.

Default Re: Advice On Painting An Xbox 360

You mentioned warrany would be voided if you remove the case. If you are worried about that then forget any modding. I'd guess that your warranty will prolly be toast if you paint the thing due to the likelyhood of paint getting into places it shouldn't.