Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Temp monitoring, BS or not?

Hi Everybody!!

I've been reading back through the posts on cooling and wanted to ask this question.

I recently changed to a Gigabyte GA-7DXE mobo for my Athlon t-bird 1300. On this new board the cpu peaks at about 70C under strain and is currently showing 62C after being on the net a few hours. Case temp is 29C. I have a coolermaster exhaust blower in a slot between my AGP and the CPU, sucking from beside the CPU and three small intake fans in a 5 1/4 inch bay.

I have used this CPU, Heat sink & fan on 2 other mobos (in summer) with the same brand thermal compound and no extra intake or exhaust fans and the temp peaked about 52C under strain.

This doesnt make a lot of sense to me in that my case is much better ventilated now than ever and the CPU temp is nearly 20 degrees higher. Can this be down to a diffent type of Temp monitoring on the new mobo?
    Any help greatly appreciated.
    moo

Your temp monitoring may be giving results that are different from other mobos (probably is). The cpu socket may be in a slightly different location on this board which may determine whether the slot cooler is helping or hindering the hsf.

If u wanna know for sure ur cpu temp buy a hardware monitor with a thermal probe that displays the temp on an lcd screen, or use an indoor/outdoor thermometer to check out ur temps if u have one :thumb:

Damn I wish ppl would quote their room temp as well as that is very important but I usually find a Gigabyte mobo's report CPU temps 6C higher than normal. Have ya got the HSF seated properly?

wait, gigabyte hds are 6C over? so really my case temp is like 41-6 (uh u do the math, im too lazy, i think 35)???
    The one thing man learns from history is that man does not learn from history.

Not the system temp but the CPU temp.