Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: agp speed problem




  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    Seein' as both video and mobo should be workin' at 4x AGP rates I'd suggest tryin' Rivatuner (get it from www.guru3d.com) as that should force the maximum rate.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    49

    Default

    sorry none of this stuff ur saying is working ive tried almost everything i can think of, that program doesnt make it work

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    968

    Default

    Well, I did a bit of research for you Steve, and although I can't figure out exactly what model of MSI mobo you have (The model and revision number will be somewhere inbetween the PCI slots) I downloaded the manual for the 845PE Max, one of several MSI boards using the Intel 845 chipset. This manual states that there IS a setting for AGP speed, and also notes that if the DDR/AGP voltages aren't set right, it could cause stability issues. Rather than reprinting it all here, I'd recommend that you download the manual yourself directly from MSI for the specific model. You may also want to try their FAQs as someone else may have had the same issue. Good luck with it, and Merry Christmas! :thumb: :cheers: : peace2:
    <img src="http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/folding/?&username=Wordbiker&border=0,255,0&tr ans=yes&template=fah_original&.jpg" alt="www.Statgfx.com" />
    Revenge is just a respawn away....Pagosa LAN Parties

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: agp speed problem

    I had a similar problem, but I managed to resolve it by reinstalling my intel chipset drivers corresponding to my motherboard, from the motherboard manufacturer's website. Don't ask me why this works... I'm assuming that during the Catalyst installation one of the chipset drivers is overrided or replaced. Try this before trying to tweak your BIOS settings for frequency and voltage. Also note that if you do this, you are negating the Catalyst Smartgart which protects you from system lock ups and freezes. I am sure, however, that the lockups are a result of temperature inside the case, in which you may add a fan or a GPU heatsink and be fine.

    Hope this solves your problem.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    870

    Default Re: agp speed problem

    Ummm, thanks for the info, but you may want to try reading how old tis thread is...
    Most of the members above dont even visit this forum anymore.
    My Current Rigs:
    Antec P180, OCZ Powerstream 520W, DFI nF4 SLI-DR Expert, AMD X2 4400 w/XP120(2.6GHz@1.45v), 2x1GB OCZ Platnium PC3200, BFG 7900GT@592/800(1.6), WD 250GB SATA, Maxtor 120GB IDE, LG DVD/CD Combo(black), Sony DRU-810 DL DVD Burner(black)
    3DMark01:25379, 3DMark03:19746
    3DMark05:9294, 3DMark06:5340

    Raidmax Cobra, Fortron PN-400W, ASUS A8N-E(nF4 Ultra), X2 3800 w/AMD heatpipe cooler, 2x 512MB Crucial Balistix, ATI X300, WD 250GB IDE, Samsung 16x DVD/RW

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: agp speed problem

    I realize this thread must be old. But it is one of the first pages that comes up when you google "AGP Speed Catalyst", and this may help people just browsing by for a solution. That's really the main reason I posted it. It took me quite a while to find my solution, and I just wanted to save some people time hunting the answer down. Sorry if I broke forum rules, but I wanted to make things easier on someone else with the same problem.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    870

    Default Re: agp speed problem

    Sorry just thought you were posting thinking that this was a semi-new thread thats all, Welcome :)
    My Current Rigs:
    Antec P180, OCZ Powerstream 520W, DFI nF4 SLI-DR Expert, AMD X2 4400 w/XP120(2.6GHz@1.45v), 2x1GB OCZ Platnium PC3200, BFG 7900GT@592/800(1.6), WD 250GB SATA, Maxtor 120GB IDE, LG DVD/CD Combo(black), Sony DRU-810 DL DVD Burner(black)
    3DMark01:25379, 3DMark03:19746
    3DMark05:9294, 3DMark06:5340

    Raidmax Cobra, Fortron PN-400W, ASUS A8N-E(nF4 Ultra), X2 3800 w/AMD heatpipe cooler, 2x 512MB Crucial Balistix, ATI X300, WD 250GB IDE, Samsung 16x DVD/RW

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: agp speed problem

    had a same kind of prob myself: no matter how I changed the agp speed setting in the catalyst control center, after the mandatory reboot the agp speed would be 0x. I'm running with radeon 9600 pro and an asus a7v8x-x motherboard, and noticed that the motherboard has a VIA chipset in it, so I installed the latest VIA hyperion drivers (as appropriate for the chipset in my mobo). works fine now.

    hope this helps some1

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •